Creation process

There is a concept that recurs often in our creative process, and that’s "to leave": it incites within us the feeling of separation, from loved ones, but also from our culture, our customs? How much of oneself is missing?... And then there is the story, told a little differently depending on the context, of the soul that would travel slower than the body, that would only catch up to it much later on. You would lose your soul when when traveling by plane: we all know that feeling of arriving mentally absent at a destination. Curious parallel with the voyage of the Aborigines: it can happen that they they sometimes stop along the way without food, drink or rest, just to wait for their souls to join them.

The performance uses ice-skating techniques in order to create a language that remains suggestive, poetic, where imagination prevails over physical performance without taking away from the magnificent experience of gliding.

The performers have all been at one time professional skaters, either in the field of figure skating, roller skating or ice hockey. They are led by Pierre Trente who puts his qualities as the coach of the French Olympic figure-skating team to good use in the service of a project where the frictions of daily life, its imperfections and slip-ups, are never-ending.

Thomas Turine, creates in this his fourth musical composition for the company, a sound environment composed of abrasiveness and passion, of ominous or more insouciant layers, within which the skaters’ movements glide.
Colette Huchard, who has worked with the Company since its inception, designed costumes ranging from unifying somber overcoats to a variety of clothing beneath, diverse in color and fabrics.
Koert Vermeulen, Lighting and Multimedia Designer, has recreated the atmosphere of a frozen lake in the rink.

Processus de création

Il y a un mot qui revient souvent dans notre processus de création, c’est «quitter» : que provoque en nous le sentiment de la séparation, d’avec un être cher, mais aussi d’avec sa culture, ses coutumes ? Quelle part de soi-même se fait manquante ?… Et puis il y a, racontée un peu différemment selon les contextes, l’histoire de l’âme qui voyagerait plus lentement que le corps, et qui ne le rattraperait que bien plus tard. On perdrait son âme quand on voyage en avion : nous connaissons tous cette sensation d’arriver mentalement absent à destination. Curieux parallèle avec les voyages des Aborigènes : ils leur arrive de s’arrêter en chemin sans manger, ni boire, ni se reposer, juste pour attendre que leur âme les rejoigne.

Le spectacle fait appel aux techniques du patinage, pour créer un langage qui reste suggestif, une évocation poétique où l’imaginaire l’emporte sur la performance physique, sans pour autant que l’on se prive de la fulgurance de la glisse.

Les interprètes ont tous été un jour des patineurs professionnels, que ce soit dans le domaine du patinage artistique, du roller skating ou du hockey sur glace. Ils sont dirigés par Pierre Trente qui met ses qualités d’entraîneur de l’équipe de France au service d’un projet où le frottement avec le quotidien, ses failles et ses dérapages contrôlés, est permanent.

Thomas Turine, dont c'est la quatrième composition musicale pour la Compagnie, crée ici un environnement sonore fait d’aspérités et d’emportements, de nappes menaçantes ou plus insouciantes, dans lesquelles se glissent les mouvements des patineurs.
Les costumes, qui vont de l’unité sombre des manteaux de voyage à une diversité de couleurs et de matières pour les vêtements de dessous, ont été conçus par Colette Huchard, avec qui nous travaillons depuis les débuts de la Compagnie.
Koert Vermeulen, concepteur de lumières/multimedia a recréé dans la patinoire les atmosphères d’un lac glacé.