Press

The coffee drinkers are elegant and mundane, but also cold, cloned like two reflections from the other side of a mirror. They continue to drink their coffee (visibly an aphrodisiac) sitting at a table before moving on to other chilly pleasures. The more they play at seduction the more their bodies’ muscular force increases. The more they are themselves the less human they seem.

This is a powerful work full of irony that lies at the intersection between being and appearing to be, between fire and ice. Savoury and exultant, like a strong dose of freshly brewed coffee!

Thomas Hahn, Danser Mag / April 2011

 

Opnening to the seemingly innocent scene of two bleach blonde 'Stepford wives-esque' women sitting by their dining tables, the audience is led through the meticulously arranged process of drinking coffee that these characters have composed. However dry and unwaveringly stern expressions suggest that there is something more to this than a simple afternoon drink (...).

Peppered with simple humour, excellently executed, and combining gesture and movement unconventionally, The coffee drinkers is a unique and utterly refreshing performance piece. A notable inclusion in the Melbourne Festival line-up, this Belgian duo is one to watch.

Nithya Iyer, Melbourne.Arts.Fashion / October 2014

 

Two women in matching platinum-blond wigs and bright pink jackets, looking like escapees from a Vanessa Beecroft photoshoot take their coffee in identical scroll-leg coffee tables. The ritual is very elaborate, passionate, and symmetrical - each to each. It's mesmerizing, the two women, weird sisters, with their mirrored expressions of sensual delight (...).

It's a terrible cliché to describe something as David Lynch-like, and it's usually an injustice. But The Coffee Drinkers, choreographed by company founders Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté, really does have an eerie resemblance to Twin Peaks (...). The humour and the symbols are similar, but The Coffee Drinkers goes further in digging out the absurdity (...). From the coffee lounge, the scene shifts to a sort of backroom, where a third dancer appears, a tyro coffee drinker - an initiate. Dance gives way completely to theater, with a spoof horror twist; the ritual of coffee drinking rises to a full-blown brown mass - or black mass, au lait.

Andrew Fuhrmann, Daily Review / October 2014

Presse

Les buveuses de café sont élégantes et mondaines, mais de glaces car clonées comme deux reflets dans un miroir déjà traversé. Et elles reprennent du café (visiblement aphrodisiaque), le buvant sur la table, avant de passer aux plaisirs, toujours aussi givrées. Plus elles font jouer la séduction, plus les corps montent en force musculaire. Et plus elles sont elles-mêmes, moins elles paraissent humaines. 

Un travail puissant et plein d'ironie sur l'interstice entre l'être et le paraître, la glace et le feu. Savoureux et exaltant comme un café bien frappé !

Thomas Hahn, Danser Mag / Avril 2011

 

D’une scène en apparence innocente de deux blondes platine impeccables assises à une table, le public est témoin du procédé méticuleusement mis en place et orchestré par ce duo de femmes tout droit sorties de Stepford pour avaler leur café. Leur expression austère et résolument sérieuse laisse pourtant présager qu’il y va de plus qu’une enième dose quotidienne de caféine (…).

Truffée de touches d’humour simple, exécutée à la perfection, et combinant geste et mouvement de manière peu conventionnelle, Les buveuses de café est une performance unique et hyper-rafraîchissante. Inclusion remarquable dans la programmation du Melbourne Festival, le duo belge est à suivre.

Nithya Iyer, Melbourne.Arts.Fashion / Octobre 2014

 

Deux femmes aux perruques blondes platine et vestons rose vif assortis donnent l’impression de s’être échappées d’une performance de Vanessa Beecroft en sirotant leur café sur deux identiques tables basses aux pieds en volutes. Le rituel est très élaboré, aussi passioné que symmétrique. C’est fascinant, ces deux femmes, étranges sœurs, avec cette expression de délectation sensuelle dupliquée comme dans un miroir (…).

Il est terriblement cliché, et généralement injuste, de décrire quelque chose comme David Lynch-esque. Mais Les buveuses de café, pièce chorégraphiée par les fondateurs de la compagnie Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté, rappelle étrangement Twin Peaks (…). L’humour et les symboles sont similaires, mais Les buveuses de café creuse plus loin l’absurdité (…). Du salon douillet, on passe à l’arrière-boutique où apparaît une troisième danseuse, une buveuse de café novice – une initiée. La danse cède le passage au théâtre ; dans un rebondissement digne d’une parodie de film d’épouvante,  le rituel du café noir devient une véritable messe noire, mais au lait.

Andrew Fuhrmann, Daily Review / Octobre 2014