Audience reactions

Territory of Ice

A winter of infinite planes presents itself in the middle of the month of May. One season’s ultimate performance is placed under the sign of variation and Migrations fills the big stage of the Varia, transforming it into an authentic ice park. Through the marriage of ice skating and contemporary dance, Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté share the destiny of these human individuals, periodic immigrants or eternal nomads, who fly over different territories in search of a propitious place to stay. The formal innovation, pictorial poetry and choreographic precision all make Migrations a great success, one that will gratify all those who have a taste for travelling from one landscape to another.

From the very beginning the alchemy of music and light generates a penetrating atmosphere. The ice-rink doesn’t seem to have a single frontier but rather exists as a vast frosty blue expanse that envelops long layers of sound. A group of individuals emerges suddenly from the mist: their bodies held firmly upright, they stay tightly packed together. These migratory birds are unsure of themselves as they find themselves on unfamiliar ground. The skates float more than glide – with barely a breath, in a deep silence their gaze reaches far into the distance. Suddenly a clear and clean sound cuts through the cold air. The agitation brutally interrupts their fragile formation. The dynamic is constantly vacillating between gracious slowness and wild outbursts. The synchronized shifts through space – the formal mastery of which is undeniable – are made and undone in a second: one dancer traces a solitary curve in the space and is imitated just after by a throng of fellow performers.

The fresh wind that blows through the piece can be explained by the atypical way of skating, in how the gestures clearly distinguish themselves from those traditionally equated with the discipline. No ‘triple axel’ or ‘camel spin’: here one performer runs frantically in place while another falls abruptly.  From delicate embrace to brusque confrontation, the body positions have clearly been practised such that the naturalness of a movement goes beyond any technical necessity imposed by the use of ice skates. The singularity of the choreography certainly constitutes the major asset of this production. For the rest, it’s not necessary for the spectator to clearly identify the subject of each tableau because the synthesis of sensations evokes a mix of curiosity, anxiety and affection that any one who throws him or herself into the unknown is bound to experience.

By expressing the subject of migration through such a rich and powerful form, Nicole Mossoux succeeds in treating the complexity of her subject without moralizing or one-sidedness. It is a good example of a humble and solid work of art in which the technique serves the evocative power of movement. Without a doubt the adventure of Migrations will continue in many different territories no matter the season.

Charles-Henry Boland, Demandez le Programme / May 2012

 

A Danced Exploration of New Territories

More than the simple satisfaction of ice-skating, Nicole Mossoux imagines an innovative dance for both human and animal migrants in an original context (…)

One can imagine how the original theatrical version (with a lighting rack over the ice rink that forms a black box) could allow extraordinary lighting effects. At such moments due to the complexity of the lighting, the seven (marvellous) immobile actor-dancers seem to levitate with the blades of their skates retracted, to float in the air ready to walk on water.

At other moments they surge forth ‘like a flock of gyrfalcons far from their native land, tired from carrying their misery of the heights’… a rapid flight in the tight triangular formation of migratory birds. Or rather like a compact school of black fish fleeing inhospitable waters? (…)

With a performance that demonstrates such elaborated research while speaking to the imagination of each spectator, Nicole Mossoux surprises, enchants and pushes us to reflection – migration/immigration.

Suzane Vanina, Rue du Théâtre / May 2012

Retours de spectateurs

Territoire de glace

L’hiver des plaines infinies s’invite en plein mois de mai. Ultime spectacle d’une saison placée sous le signe de la variation, Migrations investit la grande salle du Varia, non sans transformer le théâtre en véritable banquise. Par un mariage du patinage et de la danse contemporaine, Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté nous racontent le destin de ces humains, ponctuels immigrés ou nomades éternels, qui survolent les territoires à la recherche d’une demeure favorable. Innovation formelle, poésie picturale et précision chorégraphique font de ces Migrations une grande réussite, qui ravira ceux dont l’esprit se plait à vagabonder d’un paysage à l’autre.

Dès les premiers instants, l’alchimie de la musique et des lumières posent un climat pénétrant. La patinoire semble n’avoir aucune frontière, vaste étendue bleutée qu’enveloppent de longues nappes sonores. Un groupe d’individus surgit dans la brume confuse, le corps droit, tous bien serrés les uns contre les autres. Les oiseaux migrateurs se méfient, ils sont en terre inconnue. Les patins flottent plus qu’ils ne glissent – à peine sur un souffle, tandis que des regards se portent au loin, dans le plus grand silence. Soudain, par un son vif et net, un coup de lame fend l’air froid. L’agitation a brutalement rompu la formation fragile. Constamment, la dynamique oscille entre lenteurs gracieuses et déchainements sauvages. Les déplacements synchronisés – dont on appréciera la grande maitrise formelle – se font et se défont en une seconde : un danseur trace une courbe solitaire dans l’espace, imité ensuite par la nuée de ses congénères.

Le vent de fraicheur qui traverse l’oeuvre s’explique surtout par un patinage atypique, dont les gestes se distancient nettement des figures traditionnelles propres à la discipline. Nul "boucle piqué" ni "triple Axel" : celui-là court frénétiquement sur place, celle-ci tombe sans ménagement. De l’étreinte délicate à la dure confrontation, les attitudes de corps ont été travaillées, de telle sorte que le naturel du mouvement l’emporte sur la technique qu’imposent les patins. La singularité de la chorégraphie constitue certainement l’atout principal de cette production. Du reste, il n’importe pas tellement que le spectateur identifie clairement le sujet de chaque tableau, tant la synthèse des sensations parvient à évoquer ce mélange de curiosité, d’angoisse et d’affection qu’éprouve tout homme qui se jette dans l’inconnu.

En donnant une forme riche et puissante au thème de la migration, Nicole Mossoux parvient à traiter la complexité de son sujet, sans moralisation ni prise de parti. C’est l’exemple même d’un art humble et solide, dont la base technique demeure au service de la puissance évocatrice du mouvement. Sans nul doute, l’aventure de Migrations se poursuivra encore, sur maints territoires et en toute saison.

Charles-Henry Boland, Demandez le Programme / Mai 2012

 

Exploration dansée de nouveaux territoires

Bien plus que satisfaire au simple plaisir de la glisse, Nicole Mossoux imagine une danse innovante sur un support original pour des migrants de toutes sortes, humains ou animaux... (...)

On devine que la version dans un théâtre (avec un "gril de projos" au-dessus de la piste glacée, formant une "boîte noire") a pu permettre des effets lumineux inédits. C’est ainsi qu’il y a des moments où grâce à cette complicité de la lumière, les sept (merveilleux) acteurs-danseurs immobiles semblent en lévitation ; les lignes de leurs patins escamotées, flottant dans l’air, ils semblent prêts à marcher sur les eaux.

À d’autres moments, ils s’élancent "comme un vol de gerfauts hors du charnier natal, fatigués de porter leurs misères hautaines"... un vol rapide en formation serrée et triangulaire d’oiseaux migrateurs. À moins qu’il ne s’agisse de poissons noirs en banc compact, fuyant des eaux inhospitalières ? (...)

Avec un tel spectacle qui fait la part belle à sa propre recherche et à l’imaginaire de chaque spectateur, Nicole Mossoux étonne, enchante, pousse à la réflexion – migration/immigration.

Suzane Vanina, Rue du Théâtre / Mai 2012