A theatre of figures

If there is a recurrent theme in our work, it's most likely that of the double:  when it is not the living dead and his video-graphic soul that haunts the installation Katafalk, it's the unexpected partner that invades your space to the point where there is a confusion as to who is who (Hélium).  Or again in Light! with it's accompanying shadow, much like the personification of an interiority which is visible in spite of itself...  We have a kind of schizophrenia inside us, and the fact that we both work with it can't but reinforce the tendency!

The duo that we form has a particular strength which helps it to last, namely that each one has their turn at taking the initiative and responsibility for the outcome of a project.  The other one of us accompanies the work, in a way that is proximate, in order to help the other formulate their desire and realize what they had in mind without knowing it, to push certain propositions that might have been passed over.

It's also that each project begins with the flaws of or in what was missing in the precedent pieces.  Certain themes may have been touched upon without finally finding a place in the logic of the resulting work, but then become pertinent in the new work... and are thus a continuation.    It's a way of maintaining the desire, the keeping alive of what was "inaccessible"...

As a choreographer I serve more as an interface, between the director and the performers, dissecting the movement with them, whereas Patrick provides, in my projects, a certain distance, able to keep a more global vision of the work.  But often the roles get reversed, even between collaborators, set designers, constructors, musicians, costume designers and depending on the project with the performers, who give through their improvisations the gestural material that will later be developed.  At the same time it is never a question of a collective creation:  it is essential that there is always one person who keeps hold of the through-line, in total subjectivity.

As far as the marionettes - which play a predominant role in Twin Houses - they were conceived to incarnate an ideal of duality.  They are conceived as the hidden face, the return of the pendulum, at times the opposite and necessary movement of that which we search to realize with living bodies.
We often ask of the actors or dancers to put themselves into a death-like state, or one of absence - at any rate to be in a state of remembrance rather than that of an over-active present tense.  The desired state is one of affective detachment, of transparence and not one of expressiveness.
With the marionettes of Twin Houses it was necessary to infuse a more concrete sense, of thought, to "charge" them, so that they could stand on equal footing with the live performers, that their presence would be of the same nature.  In a way they are encrusted on their bodies, one lending a shoulder, the other a leg, creating the intention for two, putting the character into situations in which he would have never found himself alone.  It is the animated figure that animates....

In the "Theater of Marionettes" of Heinrich von Kleist, where the dancer is advised to move like a puppet, in movements that are at times empty and centered, I have sometimes heard very conflicting interpretations.  Certain don't get the suggestive side of the indications, thinking that it's necessary to apply the directives to the marionettes themselves.  Kleist never said anything about manipulation, he just pointed out how the puppet could be an instrument of great purity, its scenic force, and beyond the scenic, a whole life philosophy ...
It seems to me that an inanimate figure needs, contrary to a living performer, to be enormously charged: even if in manipulating it, one can follow the natural logic of its mechanics and the material of which it is made, it's necessary to imbue it with a certain potential of thought, that which moves it, makes it come to a stop, gives life to its gaze, makes it possible for the body to question itself; all of which is in opposition to the work of an actor or dancer, where the performance can become too "psychological" or redundant.

The figure is affecting in its fabulous potential to evoke or suggest.  It is for this reason we continue to experiment with such an object today, in a performance where it will occupy the front of the stage: a somewhat animist choreography, with a series of "cannibalistic" stories, each character devouring the precedent, each in turn coming to life.

To suggest  is for us a key-word.  Not to describe, not to circumscribe a totality.  To leave something partially in the shadow.  Open up the flaws, show what is incomplete.  And by that way incite the audience to reconstitute the missing pieces, to glide along through their own sensitive experience.
Illusion can allow us to come into contact with our own reality.  Children's games stir up this very same phantasm, touch upon this same desire:  to live big, for an intensity of existence, beyond the constraints of the day-to-day,  to dig into what is alive about living, touch the hidden depths which the imagination can reveal.

Un théâtre de figures

S’il est un thème récurrent dans notre travail, c’est bien celui du double : quand ce n’est pas la "dépouille  vivante" et son âme vidéographique qui hantent l’installation Katafalk, c’est l’improbable partenaire s’introduisant dans votre espace au point qu’il y ait confusion de personnes (Hélium). Ou encore, dans Light ! , l’ombre portée, comme la figuration d’une intériorité qui se donnerait à voir malgré soi... Il doit y avoir en nous une schizophrénie de fond, et le fait de travailler à deux ne ferait que renforcer la tendance !

Le duo que nous formons a cette force qui le fait durer, quand chacun prends tour à tour l’initiative et la responsabilité finale du projet. L’autre l’accompagne, de façon plus ou moins proxémique, pour l’aider à formuler son désir, à faire apparaître ce qui était en lui et qu’il ne savait pas trop, à pousser plus avant des propositions sur lesquelles il ne se serait peut-être pas attardé.

Il y a aussi que chaque projet s’inscrit dans les failles, les manques du précédent... Des thèmes pouvaient y avoir été abordés, qui n’avaient pas leur place dans la logique d’ensemble, mais qui s’imposent dans le projet nouveau... et ainsi de suite. Une façon comme une autre de garder le désir, de maintenir vivant un "innaccédé"...

En tant que chorégraphe, je serais plutôt l’interface entre le metteur en scène et les interprètes, décortiquant le mouvement avec eux, et Patrick sera plutôt, dans mes projets, le pôle distancié, qui peut garder une vision globale. Mais souvent les rôles s’interpénètrent, de même qu’avec nos collaborateurs, scénographes, constructeurs, musiciens, concepteurs de costumes, et dans une mesure variable selon les projets, avec les interprètes, qui donnent, dans les improvisations, le matériau gestuel qui sera développé par la suite. Cela sans qu’on ne puisse jamais parler de création collective : il est essentiel que le fil rouge soit tenu par un seul, en toute subjectivité.

Les marionnettes en tant que telles - qui jouent un rôle prédominant dans Twin Houses -  se sont avérées être l’incarnation idéale de la dualité. Elles se sont avancées comme la face cachée, le retour de pendule, le mouvement à la fois inverse et nécessaire, de ce que nous cherchons à traverser avec des corps vivants. 
On demande souvent à l’acteur, au danseur, de se mettre en état de mort, d’absence – en tout cas d’être dans une attitude engendrée par le souvenir plutôt que de se tenir dans un présent trop actif. L’état recherché est de l’ordre d’un détachement de l’affect, d’une transparence, et non de l’expressivité.
Aux marionnettes de Twin Houses, il fallait au contraire insuffler du sens, de la pensée, les "charger", pour qu’elles prennent place aux côtés de l’interprète de manière égalitaire, que leurs présences soient de même nature. Elles se sont incrustées, au sens propre, à son corps, lui empruntant  l’une une épaule, l’autre une jambe, induisant des intentions pour deux, mettant le personnage dans des situations où il ne se serait jamais aventuré tout seul. C’est la figure animée qui a animé...

Du "Théâtre de Marionnettes" d’Heinrich von Kleist, où il est conseillé au danseur de bouger comme le pantin, dans un mouvement à la fois vide et centré, j’ai parfois entendu des interprétations tout à fait confuses. Certains ne saisissent pas le côté exemplatif du propos, pensant qu’il faudrait appliquer ces conseils à la marionnette elle-même. Kleist ne dit rien sur la manipulation, il fait juste le constat de la grande pureté de l’instrument qu’est le pantin, de sa force scénique, et, au-delà du scénique, c’est de toute une philosophie de vie qu’il s’agit...
Il me semble qu’il faut à la figure animée, au contraire de ce qui est préconisé à l’interprète vivant, une charge énorme: même si, en manipulant, on suit la logique d’un bougé propre à sa mécanique, au matériau qui la constitue, il faut bien lui accorder un potentiel de pensées, celles-là qui meuvent, qui arrêtent, qui donnent un regard, qui font le corps s’interroger, tout au contraire de l’acteur ou du danseur, dont le jeu deviendrait trop "psychologique", redondant.

La figure est interpellante dans son fabuleux potentiel d’évocation, de suggestion. C’est d’ailleurs ce qui nous pousse à aborder aujourd’hui l’objet, dans un spectacle où il occupera le devant de la scène: une chorégraphie un peu animiste, où se succédent des histoires “cannibales”, un personnage dévorant le précédent pour prendre vie à son tour.

Suggérer est pour nous un maître-mot. Ne pas décrire, ne pas circonscrire une totalité. Laisser, partiellement, dans l’ombre. Ouvrir les failles, montrer l’incomplétude. Et par là inciter le spectateur à reconstituer les parts manquantes, en y glissant sa propre expérience sensible.

L’illusion peut amener à entrer en contact avec notre propre réalité. Les jeux d’enfants brassent ce même fantasme, touchent à ce même désir : sur-vivre, exister intensément, au-delà des contraintes du quotidien, trancher dans le vif du vivant, toucher ces épaisseurs cachées dont l’imaginaire est le révélateur.