A few words about Helium

A challenge we threw at ourselves: would it be possible, for once, to create in all lightness, an evanescence, an illusiveness, where normally our work pushes us toward interrogations of death, origins, doubles, the discomfort of being..?  Would we be able to lighten the affair, starting from a rather strong metaphor and take the image of the celestial bodies that burn their own energy transforming it into hydrogen and helium, the lightest of gases? 

That was our desire.  Obviously we needed a context: a raised stage, already slightly lifting off, a theater of operations.  Obviously we needed a framework: three windows that open and close like the panels of a triptych allowing three images to be seen in constant contrast, in a syncopated narration, in which images contaminate each other or allow for a plethora of associations to be made.  To multiply the way of seeing, to bring the center into question, while also creating an out-of-bounds area, important because it reveals the impossibility of containing a world within a set frame, as they succeeded so magically in doing during the Renaissance.  Everything is too complex in our little moth's world, the truth as well as the big picture escape us, leaving us unable to anchor our existence and make it necessary.  It's not so serious.  In the middle of the explosion, the polyphony, the simultaneity, how we see recreates its own logic.

Three spaces and three moments of time for three "themes".  But the separation is arbitrary: God, sex and repression, aren't they all intimately related?
The movement that causes us to circulate within these concepts, is it not real enough, composed as it is of momentum and retreats which call forth many unanswerable questions, endlessly making manifest the limits of our spirit?

If God is real enough within the heads of men, he has alas also become real in their societies.  The modest eaters of zucchinis are not content to garden their small piece of land, they want vast spaces where they can cultivate the fruit of their wildest dreams.  So that what must be sold throughout the world: propaganda, commercials and company.  Obligation.  Idolatry.  Murder.  The exploitation of woman.  The destruction of the other.

The question of sex is interesting, on condition that any discourse of fear or censorship be left out of the discussion...  Why so much fear, by the way: isn't the disillusion announced by the beginning of any desire sufficient?  So it goes, the hidden subject of the chapter, even if sexuality opens up numerous metamorphoses, stupefying neuroses, unforeseen transfigurations...

Representation alone calls the action into play, even if it is codified (the opera, the lyrical bourgeoisie) in order to put some distance between us and what we are while sticking closely to our ambiguities...   Actors, we become explicit players within the block of night of which we are a part.  It is important that this mystery ends up and is put into play with a certain self-criticism that articulates the perception so as not to drift off in a reverie.  Share the phantasm, share the darkness, share the waste, but never give in to malevolent powers. Create forces. Tensions that carry.

Finally, whatever the context may be, the performance could also be seen as fantasy in motion, in which the different elements come back to themselves,  giving form to sensations and ideas destined to disappear within the images they had brought into being.

Trois mots sur Hélium

Comme un défi que nous nous sommes jetés à la face : serait-ce possible, pour une fois, de faire dans le léger, l’évanescent, l’insaisissable, alors que d’ordinaire le travail nous pousse vers des interrogations autour de la mort, de l’origine, du double, du malaise d’être… ? Pourrait-on alléger l’affaire et, filant une métaphore un peu forte, emprunter l’image des corps célestes qui brûlent leur énergie en transformant leur hydrogène en hélium, le plus léger des gaz ?

Tel était notre désir. Evidemment, il lui fallait un contexte : une scène à mi-hauteur, qui aurait déjà un peu décollé, un théâtre des opérations. Evidemment, il lui fallait un cadre : trois fenêtres ouvertes et fermées comme les panneaux d’un triptyque qui laisserait voir trois images en constant décalage, en narration syncopée, en contamination ou en association libre. Multiplier le regard pour mettre en cause l’évidence du centre, mais aussi créer un hors-champ dont l’importance révélerait l’impossibilité de contenir le monde dans un cadre et de l’enfermer comme il le fut magiquement à la Renaissance. Tout est trop complexe dans nos univers en miettes, la vérité comme l’unité nous échappent, elles ne peuvent fonder nos existences et les rendre nécessaires. Ce n’est pas un drame. Au milieu de l’éclatement, de la polyphonie, de la simultanéité, le regard recrée ses logiques.

Trois espaces et trois temps pour trois « thèmes ». Mais la séparation est arbitraire : Dieu, le sexe et la représentation ne sont-ils pas intimement liés ? Et le mouvement qui nous fait circuler à l’intérieur de ces concepts bien  réels n’est-il pas composé d’élans et de retraits qui en font des questions insolubles, rendant sans cesse manifestes les limites de notre esprit?

Si Dieu est bien réel dans la tête des hommes, il l’est hélas aussi devenu dans leurs sociétés. Les intègres mangeurs de courgettes ne peuvent se contenter de jardiner dans leur parcelle, il veulent de vastes potagers où cultiver les fruits de leurs délires. Qu’il faut ensuite vendre à travers le monde : propagande, publicité et compagnie. Obligation. Idolâtrie. Meurtre. Exploitation des femmes. Destruction de l’autre.

La question du sexe est plus intéressante, à condition de la découpler du discours de peur et de censure qui déforme ses enjeux… Pourquoi la peur d’ailleurs : la désillusion annoncée dans l’amorce de tout désir ne suffit-elle pas ? Tel est le sujet caché de ce chapitre, même si la sexualité ouvre sur d’innombrables métamorphoses, des névroses ahurissantes, des transfigurations imprévues…

La représentation, elle, appelle le jeu, même s’il est codé (l’opéra, la bourgeoisie lyrique), pour nous mettre à distance de ce que nous sommes et coller à nos ambiguïtés… Acteurs, nous devenons les figures explicites du bloc de nuit qui nous compose. Il est important que ce mystère demeure et qu’il soit mis en scène avec une auto-dérision qui articule le regard pour ne pas le laisser dériver dans la rêverie. Partager le fantasme, partager la noirceur, la déperdition, mais ne jamais céder aux puissances nocives. Créer des forces. Des tensions qui portent.

Enfin, quels que soient ses enjeux, le spectacle peut aussi se voir comme une fantaisie en mouvement dans laquelle les éléments se renvoient sans cesse à eux-mêmes, une mise en formes de sensations et d’idées destinées à disparaître dans les images qu’elles ont suscitées.