The eye and the body

In our performances, nothing is meant to last.  The actions and the images do not stop calling the reality they propose into question:  the truth they offer is plural, like fragments of our personalities attempting to introduce something anomalous into the heart of what is certain.

In our performances nothing is obvious - except the insistence of what is suggested.  The gestures, the actions, the displacements are all derived from pulsations and phantasms of which the staging is above all else a drawing into form, a clarification of sense (so that what is obscure may indeed permeate our understanding), an organization of what is visible (such that the impalpable appears graspable).

From the beginning, our central references have belonged to the domain of the eye.
They are to be regarded with the awareness of a painter or cinematographer, such that the tutelary ascension is key.  Vertical dreamers, architects of imbalance, reformers of anamorphosis, visionaries hunting the void, delirious in black and white….

One day, it seemed to us that if we had to identify our precursors, it was beyond any sense of paradox that they originate from the world of visual arts and not from theater or dance.

If we had to search for an exact equivalent of the sentient principle underlying our gestural world, and define the unrest that leads us to the identity of what we do not know about who we are, we found an anticipated echo, a source both luminous and black, in the work of Hans Bellmer.

In acknowledging this association, we recognize in him that thing toward which we endlessly return, the ambiguous analogies, inexplicable fusions, superimpositions, transferences, convergences, the rhythmic contaminations… and the way the face has of spreading across the body, undoing and recomposing its volumes, but also how the body may say through a knee what the mouth will not disclose, or through the stomach what the ear does not want to hear.
Revealing these unutterable aspects and motifs, Bellmer’s images act as a screen for the body, a screen on which the vertiginous experience of man’s phantasms are harbored and endlessly escape him.

L'oeil et le corps

Dans nos spectacles, rien ne parvient à se maintenir. Les actes et les images n’ont de cesse de mettre en doute la réalité qu’ils présentent : ils n’énoncent qu’une vérité plurielle, à l’instar de nos personnalités en morceaux, qui tente d’introduire l’étrange dans le cœur de l’évidence.

Dans nos spectacles, il n'y a pas d'évidence - seule, l'insistance d'une suggestion. Les gestes, les actions, les déplacements dérivent de pulsions et de fantasmes dont la mise en scène est avant tout une mise en formes, une clarification des sens (afin que l'obscur accède à l'esprit), une organisation du visible (de sorte que l'impalpable nous apparaisse préhensible). 

Depuis le départ, nos références centrales ont appartenu au domaine de l’œil.
Elles eurent à voir avec le regard de peintres et de cinéastes dont l’ascendance tutélaire fut capitale. Rêveurs verticaux, architectes du déséquilibre, réformistes de l’anamorphose, visionnaires en proie au vide, délirants en noir et blanc…

Un jour, il nous est apparu que, si nous avions à nous désigner des précurseurs, il était hors de tout paradoxe que ce fût au sein de l’art plastique et non du théâtre ou de la danse.

S’il nous fallait chercher le plus juste équivalent du principe sensible de notre univers gestuel, et définir le trouble qui nous rend à nous-mêmes l’identité de ce que nous ne savons pas que nous sommes, nous en trouverions un écho anticipé, une source lumineuse et noire, dans l’œuvre de Hans Bellmer.

Que le rapprochement nous soit permis, nous reconnaîtrions chez lui ce vers quoi nous nous tournons sans cesse, les analogies ambigües, les fusions inexplicables, les surimpressions, les transferts, les convergences, les contaminations de rythme… et la façon qu’a le visage de se répandre dans le corps, d’en découdre et d’en recomposer les volumes, mais aussi, la manière qu’a le corps de dire par le genou ce que la bouche ne veut pas proférer, et par le ventre ce que l’oreille ne peut plus entendre.
Dévoilant des aspects et des motifs inavouables, les images de Bellmer se servent du corps comme d’un écran sur lequel les fantasmes des hommes se recueillent et s’éprouvent dans leur vertige, et échappent indéfiniment aux hommes…