The uncanny...

Virginie Dupray: Coming respectively from dance and theater, you’ve developed in tandem since 1985 creations that move between text, image, objects and movement…  How did this very personal world come into being?

Nicole Mossoux: We had both already done some work of our own, Patrick in theater and me with dance and we both felt something missing, some dissatisfaction.  We found ourselves quite organically at a crossroads where language, a visual one above all else, is determined by very singular aesthetic worlds.  What’s important is not to create a language, but many languages, gestural forms, ways of being on stage that are particular to each creation.

Patrick Bonte: We shared a desire to investigate the peculiar zones of the intimate, which didn’t seem possible to explore with only choreographic techniques or theatrical texts, often laden with psychology or realism.  We attempted to give the spectator the liberty of constructing their own images, based on their own imagination, with phantasmic openings.  Such an undertaking demands appropriated languages, which we have to discover each time.  In the act of creation, we work a lot with improvisation, with the actors or dancers, along with a defined dramaturgical canvas, while leaving room for accidents, errors, the unexpected, which allows for the things that escape us, working with a certain ‘‘porousness’’ of being, making what is unknown in ourselves accessible…

VD : From the alter-ego marionettes in Twin Houses, the masks in Katafalk, the actors framed in Les Dernières hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien to the fetishist world of Hurricane, the objects, accessories or figures seem to play a major role…

NM: The degree to which objects are present depends on the performance, they are particularly visible in the solos, wherein the necessity of confronting the solitary presence with an object-partner is imposed:  a marionette, a figure, a play of shadows in Light!, a cord in Gradiva.  It’s a question of putting a certain triangulation in place, between the spectator, the performer and their partner.  We also have a certain fascination with the being, void of personal stories, affects, or psychology that is the marionette. The same goes for the overt play of projections and identifications on the part of the audience.
Twin Houses bears witness to the very fundamental relationship with the marionette, for us who are not puppet masters.  How can this figure progressively become charged and give the illusion of life?  The gestural concentration is directed almost exclusively at the marionette, while my actions take place, as much as possible, at a certain distance.

PB: The anthropomorphic nature of the figures remains undeniably troubling.  Freud evokes this very well in The Uncanny by showing how childhood or certain primitive societies cultivate a non-distinction between the animated and the inanimate, by inventing projections of the self (dolls)… and how what is ‘‘uncanny’’ is constituted through the resurgence of such representations in the adult world.
The use of masks or marionettes also echoes our obsession with “the double” and with schizophrenic atmospheres.  Our pieces are rife with the notion of separation, of division, both in the intention that lies behind the acting and the dance: bodies pulled between two antagonizing intentions, between two different rhythms….  The feeling of an impossible unity…

NM: The wearing of masks also generates the condition of removing all expressivity from the performers’ faces.  If one’s face, with its extreme precision, takes charge of the expressivity, the body doesn’t have much left to say.  With masks, the body is able to take over and put into action all the faculties of suggestion it possesses.

VD: Notions of retreat, distance, of stepping back are recurrent in your creations…

NM: In effect, our aim is not to project ourselves toward the audience, but on the contrary give the spectator the possibility of projecting for themselves through the performers.

PB: We’ve been criticized, particularly in France by the way, for a certain coldness in our performances.  This touches upon the reality of the relationship with incarnation, which differs according to the sensibilities of different cultures.  We recognize ourselves more in the world of suggestion than in that of expressionism.  In our performances, doubt is implicit in the action; a distance is taken in relation to the self and its actions…  The notion of retreat constitutes a part of what is presented on stage…

VD: The intervention, in two of your creations Les dernières hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien and Simonetta Vespucci, of a strong pictorial influence…  The performers, by their framing or through the video techniques used, seem to become a sort of effigy.  How did these two pieces come into being?

PB: The encounter with Cranach was born out of a mesmeric moment in front of a small portrait of a princess, in London, a portrait of duplicity – she was at the same time innocent, angelic and an assassin; she brought us toward a strange and very troubling theatricality.  As if the painter invited us to imagine what had happened just before the sitting or what would happen just after.  We developed a way of working based on what is seen and what is hidden and little by little, a sort of frame imposed itself.  The gestures of the performers do not borrow from the mechanics of the marionettes.  Those characters are there as if having come to life after having been frozen in a tableau for five centuries.  They discover an anterior existence in a manner both progressive and abrupt, from where you get the fits and starts, the disruptions, the stops, the sudden impulses….
Simonetta Vespucci marks a return several years later to mannerist images, both savant and ironic.  The piece also interrogates notions of portraits, the face, what we give of ourselves and that which escapes us, creating a parallel with our contemporary era, marked by the overabundance of images of ourselves, due to surveillance cameras, photo-booths, reality shows…  and the era which gave birth to portraiture:  the beginning of the Renaissance.

VD: The costumes and the objects also participate in the creation of very striking aesthetics in the work:  the Renaissance for Cranach, the milieu of fetishists, even sado-masochists in Hurricane.  Do the costumes, the objects, orient little by little the atmospheres you create or are they chosen later, in order to reinforce a predetermined aesthetic?

NM: It’s the same with the music…  We work a long time in certain ‘‘outfits’’, clothes that carry our gestures and fortify a character, an intention…  Then comes the intervention of the costume designer (which is feminine in French… we’ve always worked with women, and have a long-standing relationship with Colette Huchard), which consists of bringing the propositions into question, by prolonging them or by looking in the opposite direction.  It’s always a delicate moment for the performer, who has to leave their ‘‘skin’’ in order to fit into new forms, new materials; it always strikes at something very intimate…
But this confrontation may allow for them to go beyond the sentiment of comfort created by this second skin that had become so perfectly married with the first.
Rubbing a jacket collar, that’s a bit stiff, can give rise to a wave-like movement in the neck, a movement which will then be executed without the said collar being worn: the memory of the reactivated sensation has a strong chance of making the gesture more visible, in the double movement of relocation and of showing that which initiated the movement in the first place.  This agency gives the gesture another dimension and permits the spectator to slide into the interstices.  A too-direct relationship with the material may cause a sign to close in upon itself.

VD: In July you led a workshop at the Institut International de la Marionnette in Charleville-Mézières.  Could you speak about that?

PB: It was a workshop that explored ‘‘the object’’, or rather the way of using an object without becoming the object of one’s object.  There is always a danger that the object will take all the attention, that its presence may carry one away.  How then to give it a particular status without becoming a slave to it?  How to render it ambiguous, to transform it into a metaphoric sign?  In our performances objects intervene like transient tools.  Like the music or costumes, they lend a support that at a certain moment will disappear, to finally open up as much as possible the spectator’s imaginary space without enclosing them in an anecdote.  The disappearance of the object marks an interesting moment, it disappears because that which motivated it’s apparition, has become stronger than it and yet if it remains it is because it has become a sign and not a crutch for the action.
As soon as it disappears, an essential question surfaces: how to confront, with bare hands, that which we wanted to say and get at what is essential without unnecessary tools, without assistance?

Inquiétante étrangeté…

Venus respectivement de la danse et du théâtre, vous développez en tandem depuis 1985 des créations mouvantes entre texte, image, objet et mouvement... Comment s'est affirmé cet univers très personnel ?

Nicole Mossoux : Nous avions tous deux fait un peu de chemin auparavant, Patrick dans le théâtre, moi dans la danse, et nous ressentions chacun des manques et des insatisfactions. Nous nous sommes donc naturellement retrouvés à ce croisement où le langage, visuel avant tout, est porté par des univers singuliers. Ce qui nous importe n’est pas de créer un langage, mais des langages, des formes gestuelles, des façons d’être en scène particulières à chaque création.

Patrick Bonté : Nous avions une même envie d’aborder des zones un peu étranges de l’intimité qu’il ne nous semblait pas possible d’explorer avec le concours des seuls codes chorégraphiques ou du texte théâtral, trop souvent imprégné de psychologie ou de réalisme. Nous tenions à laisser au spectateur la liberté de construire ses propres images à partir de ces dérives imaginaires, de ces ouvertures fantasmatiques. Une telle démarche nécessite des langages appropriés qu’il nous faut découvrir à chaque fois. Dans le processus de création, nous travaillons beaucoup par improvisation avec les acteurs et les danseurs à travers des canevas dramaturgiques définis, en laissant cours à l’accident, aux failles, à l’imprévu, en laissant les choses nous échapper, en travaillant une certaine "porosité" de l’être, une mise à disponibilité de l’inconnu qui est en nous…

VD : Des marionnettes alter ego dans Twin Houses au masque dans Katafalk, des acteurs mis en cadre dans Les dernières hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien à l’univers fétichiste de Hurricane, les objets, accessoires ou figures, semblent avoir la part belle…

NM : Les objets sont plus ou moins présents selon les spectacles, ils sont ainsi particulièrement visibles dans les solos où s’imposait la nécessité de confronter la présence solitaire à un objet-partenaire : une marionnette, une figure, un jeu d’ombres dans Light !, une corde dans Gradiva. Il s’agissait de mettre en œuvre une certaine triangulation entre l’interprète, le spectateur et le partenaire convoqué. Nous entretenons en outre une certaine fascination pour cet être vide d’histoires, d’affects, de psychologie qu’est la marionnette, à même de jouer pleinement avec les projections et les identifications des spectateurs. 
Twin Houses témoigne d’un rapport très premier avec la marionnette, pour nous qui ne sommes pas marionnettistes. Comment cette figure peut-elle progressivement se charger et donner l’illusion de la vie ? La concentration gestuelle s’est ainsi portée quasi exclusivement vers la marionnette, tandis que mon jeu demeurait le plus possible en retrait.

PB : Le caractère anthropomorphe des figures reste indéniablement troublant. Freud l’évoque très bien dans L’inquiétante étrangeté en montrant comment l’enfance ou certaines sociétés primitives cultivent une non-distinction entre l’animé et l’inanimé en inventant des projections du moi (poupées…) et comment "l’inquiétante étrangeté" se constitue avec la résurgence dans l’univers adulte de telles représentations. 
L’utilisation du masque ou de la marionnette fait également écho pour nous à une obsession liée au double et aux atmosphères schizophréniques. Ce rapport à la séparation, à la division, aussi bien dans l’intention de jeu que dans le mouvement est extrêmement prégnant dans nos pièces : corps tiraillé entre deux intentions antagonistes, entre deux rythmes différents… Un sentiment d’impossible unité…

NM : Le port du masque renvoie également à un souci d’ôter toute expressivité au visage des interprètes. Si le visage, dans son extrême précision, prend en charge l’expressivité, le corps n’a plus grand-chose à dire. Avec le masque, le corps peut prendre le relais et mettre en œuvre les facultés de suggestion qui lui sont propres.

VD : Le retrait, la distance, le recul sont des notions qui reviennent souvent dans vos créations…

NM : En effet, nous ne cherchons pas à nous projeter vers le public, mais au contraire, à donner au spectateur la possibilité de se projeter à travers les interprètes.

PB : On a pu nous reprocher, particulièrement en France d’ailleurs, une certaine froideur du jeu. On touche là au rapport à l’incarnation, qui diffère selon les sensibilités et les cultures. Nous nous reconnaissons davantage dans des univers de suggestion que d’expression. Dans nos spectacles, le doute est implicite au jeu, une distance est prise par rapport à soi et à ses actes… Le retrait comme part constitutive de ce qui est livré sur un plateau.

VD : Intervient dans deux de vos créations Les dernières hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien et Simonetta Vespucci un rapport très fort au pictural… Les interprètes, par le cadre ou le procédé vidéo, semblent être mis en effigie. Comment sont nées ces deux pièces ?

PB : La rencontre avec Cranach est née d’un saisissement devant le petit portrait d’une princesse à Londres, portrait dont la duplicité – elle était à la fois innocente, angélique et assassine – ; elle nous a menés vers cette théâtralité de l’étrange très troublante. Comme si le peintre nous invitait à imaginer ce qui s’était passé avant la pose ou ce qui allait se passer après. Nous avons développé un travail sur le vu et le caché et au fil du projet, le cadre s’est imposé. La gestuelle des interprètes n’emprunte cependant rien à la mécanique des marionnettes. Ces personnages sont là comme s’ils avaient été figés dans le tableau pendant cinq siècles et qu’ils se remettaient à vivre. Ils retrouvent cette existence antérieure de façon progressive ou abrupte, d’où des à-coups, des troubles, des arrêts, des impulsions soudaines…
Simonetta Vespucci marque quelques années plus tard un retour aux images maniéristes, savantes et ironiques. La pièce interroge également le portrait, le visage, ce qu’on donne de soi et ce qui nous échappe, mettant en parallèle l’époque contemporaine marquée par une surenchère de notre propre image, via les caméras de surveillance, les photomatons, les reality shows…, et l’époque qui a connu la naissance du portrait : le début de la Renaissance.

VD : Les costumes et les objets participent également à la création d’esthétiques fortes dans vos pièces : la Renaissance pour Cranach, des univers fétichistes, voire sado-masochistes dans Hurricane. Le costume, l’objet orientent-ils peu à peu l’univers ou sont-ils choisis dans un second temps pour conforter une esthétique déjà définie ?

NM : C’est comme avec la musique… Nous travaillons longtemps dans des "tenues", des vêtements qui portent nos gestes ou soutiennent le personnage, l’intention… Puis l’intervention de la costumière (c’est au féminin… : nous avons toujours travaillé avec des femmes, et avons une longue histoire complice avec Colette Huchard) consistera à remettre en question ces propositions, en les prolongeant ou en en prenant le contrepied. C’est toujours un moment délicat pour l’interprète qui doit quitter ses dépouilles pour se mesurer à de nouvelles formes, de nouvelles matières ; ça le touche toujours très fort dans son intimité…
Mais cette confrontation peut l’amener à dépasser le sentiment parfois trop confortable d’une deuxième peau qui épouserait parfaitement la première.
Le frottement du col d’une veste un peu raide a pu faire naître une onde dans le cou, que voici à présent sans col alentour : la mémoire de la sensation qu’il faut alors réactiver a des chances de la rendre plus lisible, dans le double mouvement de la retrouver et de donner à voir ce qui l’a fait naître. Cet agencement donne au geste une autre dimension, et permet au spectateur de se glisser dans l’interstice, quand un rapport trop direct avec la matière refermerait le signe.