Material/Space/Body: the spectator’s place is in the empty spaces

David Lippe - Is the form seen in Light! characteristic of the Company’s work?

Nicole Mossoux - It is, in the way that each performance gives rise to its own very specific form: each theme we address engenders a very different formalization of the various elements related to the performance, whether it is the gestural language, the light or the scenography…  Here in the relationship between the body and the light, between thought and blackness, it is the reality of the shadow that must come first:  gesture, light, organizations of the space, all are adapted to highlight this priority.

D.L. - What kind of dialogue did you have with the light designer for Light! ?

N.M. - When you look at the credits for Light!  you can see that the post of “light designer” isn’t listed, for the simple reason that the whole team collaborated on this aspect of the performance.  Early on I tried to experiment alone, intuitively, in order to understand something of the phenomenon of shadow, without any technical baggage, to find a “basic”, almost naïve relationship with it…  Then, from our technical director (Pierre Stoffyn) to our costume designer (Colette Huchard) along with the stage manager (Mikha Wajnrych), everyone brought their little stone to the edifice, not to mention Patrick Bonté, the metteur en scène, who creates the light for most of our performances… We also asked Marc Elst, from the Théâtre du Tilleul, for advice, as he is a specialist in shadows.  Yet it was essential in this case for us investigate the fundamentals of shadows, without relying upon the technical know-how of the theater.  What is a shadow?  How is it charged symbolically, phatasmagorically?   How does it affect us in daily life?  We created our own techniques, even if they are closely related to preexisting ones.

D.L. - The audience doesn’t always understand whether the body is behind or in front of the screen….

N.M. - In fact the body is never behind the screen…  What interested us was the confrontation between the character that circulates and the shadow it produces as if in spite of itself.  The character and its shadow are almost always present.
For the costumes, we wanted a certain independence, in order to differentiate as much as possible between the shadow and the body, to render each autonomous: the costumes are very colorful, while the shadow is “dressed” in black.  Also, we noticed how a detail in the costume could amplify or completely modify the part of the body that produces the shadow.  There was also the idea to oppose the contours of the body with the flatness of the shadow…
All the very seductive and accessible video techniques were discarded, in order to conserve the live aspect of the changing relationships.  With the video techniques we risked losing the through-line, the thread that connects, the relationship between solitude and its double negative.  All we see is the story of a body-obstacle that creates, between light and screen, another body more phantasmic than itself.  And it’s this relationship to power that needed to be the focus.

D.L. - The body creates its own limits…?

N.M. - Yes, and how it over-flows from these limits, like when the shadow, too big, and expands beyond the screen, in this no-man’s-land of the set.  Currently I’m interested in experimenting with proportions, size and scale, through the manipulation of objects, in relation to the human body… this premise exists in Light!

D.L. - This relationship pervades your research.  It seems that in Générations the bodies protect each other, each creating the limits for the other?

N.M. - They don’t protect each other, they expose each other. Générations is an installation/performance of two hours and thirty minutes intended for industrial spaces, and is sometimes performed outdoors, as we’ve just finished experimenting in Périgeux.  The twelve dancers are placed on luminous slabs, indicating the place where they’ve fallen, a bit like meteorites.  The audience has the possibility of seeing each dancer from all sides, which may induce a feeling of vulnerability on the part of the performer…  They can also “zoom in” by moving closer up or move through and around the performers.  The audience is free to install themselves close to one or another of the dancers, to see the eleven others or not.  Some audience members read this as a great solitude, while others first perceive the connection, which is real, between the dancers.

D.L. -  Would you say that in your work there is a specific method for approaching the space? 

N.M. - Each time that decision has to be made.  In Générations, we tried to create contrasts with the natural world.  Audience member and dancer alike, everyone is lit, is visible.  The only frontier, the only distance created between the transposed body, the body in movement and the audience is due in part to the light and in part to the slab on which the dancer is placed. Each audience member is free to circulate, to come in and go out.  Which brings their role into question.  It’s not obvious for the audience to permit themselves to circulate around something living, around human presence.  People have the tendency to sit down, to stay in one place.

D.L. - In this “framework”, is the dance in opposition to the space? 

N.M. - In any case the aim is not for it to be integrated into the space, which is of a different nature each time: after an abandoned industrial zone, we found ourselves at the very end of the Thiers pier in Arcachon…

D.L. - In regards to Jonction Nord-Midi, how was the project of itineraries between the three train stations of Brussels conceived, as far as the urban scenography, the scenography of pre-existing places?

N.M. - The train stations are really astonishing places, by their density of presence, the ambient sound…  They exude a force, such that the preparatory work in the studio had to be tried out each time on-site and often needed to be greatly modified.  Moreover, each station in which Jonction was presented, corresponds to different choreographic writing, an appropriate scenario…  Stylistically, the rule was: keep it simple, if not nothing was visible given the complexity of the place.  We systematically had to abandon what was small or confidential and develop very open gestures that were directly readable.
For Générations, I wanted to put the dancers in the fore, with more distance between them and the audience in order to freely develop the strange states of being, inherent to our language.  In the stations, so much is ruled out: a body lying down is out of the question…  people simply look away….

D.L. - We find ourselves in a real place, where life goes on, I’m thinking of the train stations… In this sense, today we’re given an enormous amount of images to take in, more and more often without being able to perceive their meaning.  In your work with the company, what precisely is your relationship with the image?

N.M. - For us, to work with an image or from an image is completely natural.  Belgium is above all else a country of painters… We’ve used the “black box”, a frontal vision, for a long time.  But without it being flat, as the light, coming laterally, creates contours.  At a certain moment we needed to break this window, the protection offered by traditional theatrical techniques: the audience in the dark, the actors in front of them, often slightly raised up, isolated by the light… We realized that the relationship with what is strange, with violence, becomes completely different.
The image that circulates “these days” is often framed on a screen… there one can “let themselves go”, one feels, as a spectator, totally protected.  But when this violence or simply something off-kilter introduces itself into the territory of the quotidian, it changes everything… Even the suggestion of this, if it’s not covered by a marked sense of humor, is inadmissible, at least not well accepted…

D.L. - You worked quite explicitly on painting, with Les Dernières Hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien, and with Light! we can follow a bi-dimensional development.  How did painting influence this bi-dimensional approach?

N.M. – In Light! the fixed plane of the shadows is obvious, but in Cranach…  The action takes place on a large wall, pierced with windows in which the bodies appear.  The light, which often captures the figures from the side, creates the contours:  it’s through this aspect that the intervention in relation to painting is situated.  What can we show of Cranach after Cranach?  His paintings are so very magnificent: why not send people to see his tableaux?  Our role was to communicate, to share the sensations that we, today, may experience in front of one of his oeuvres:  we imagined the characters of his portraits in what they might have lived, just before or after, we fantasized around their immobility…  In fact the performance speaks about what can happen in ourselves when our vision is troubled.  In the title of the performance there is “hallucinations”…

D.L. - It’s through the departure from a flat plane that one may extract a vision, of something living?

N.M. - Yes, that’s it…

D.L. –  And in Twin Houses?

N.M. - The set design for Twin Houses, in which I am in the presence of marionettes, had these very same origins.  At first there were stairways hung from the rafters, set down onto the ground and there were pedestals everywhere.  Such a complexity was in line with the phantasm of the characters, those vixen-like women, who wandered about a labyrinth of hallways.  We performed the show like that three times.  At the avant-première we understood that something wasn’t working, even though in rehearsal it seemed to.  We threw everything out, keeping only two pedestals and the performance seemed to catch its breath.  That is to say that in working with human-like marionettes and playing with the illusion of living bodies- who is the doll and who is the dancer? – it was absolutely necessary that the action not be situated in a realistic or defined space, because everything was intended to take place “inside one’s head”…
It’s an extreme case, but we’ve often opted for the simplification of a scenography and the same goes for objects: a large number get passed around during rehearsal and finally we only keep one or two. Why?  To allow the spectator to fantasize about the relationship one may have with the object and the space and to let them imagine, to dream about what’s in between in the spaces left empty for them.

D.L. - It’s then a question of the material needing to be filtered, before arriving on stage and becoming a concrete part of the piece’s framework?

N.M. - Yes, but contrary to “pure” dance, we need to first confront the material in order to find this simplicity.  It has to be measured, understood.  We are not in the air, like dance can be.  We are in a very concrete relationship with the elements and it’s only little by little that we extract the object/prosthesis.  We stay like that, missing one arm, with a kind of handicap, a lacking of.  It’s probably what animates us on stage.  The object is no longer there, the partner is not there – or without us looking him in the eye, without him being there, we engage with him and have the impression that he is there.  As if we asked the audience to tell us where he is, why he is there and let them find the answer.  They have the job of executing a sort of re-creation.  If there are two actors, or an actor and an object, and their relationship is too direct the audience is excluded.  It’s necessary for the relationship to be sufficiently open, free, so that the audience may slide into it and not feel like a voyeur of something that doesn’t concern them but rather personally implicated.

D.L.  - Finally there is also a sculptural aspect to your work: taking away the material and leaving the audience to the work of re-composition….

N.M. - We never know in which present audience members find themselves or where their imagination may lead them.  In Générations we saw that it’s either the proximity or the solitude that’s evoked, two very different elements.

D.L. - What is the relationship between visual artists and your work?

N.M. -  Anthony Gormley greatly inspired Générations.  We were supposed to work together, and then finally his work was so akin to our work with the body that there was no need to show it at the same time…
With our collaborators, be they musicians or visual artists, there is both a balance of power and mutual respect: how to be complimentary without saying the same thing, how to not stifle the voice of the other with our own words?  To not be redundant … It’s necessary to create tension between us but also room to breathe…
One must create a void!

Matière / Espace / Corps : la place du spectateur est dans les vides

David Lippe – La forme de Light ! est-elle caractéristique du travail de la Compagnie ? 

Nicole Mossoux – Elle l'est dans la mesure où chacun de nos spectacles relève d'une forme très particulière : chaque thématique abordée engendre une formalisation très différente de tous les éléments afférents au spectacle, qu'il s'agisse du langage gestuel, de la lumière ou de la scénographie... Ici le rapport entre corps et lumière, entre pensée et noirceur, la réalité de l'ombre devaient être mis en avant : gestuelle, éclairage, aménagement de l’espace, tout s'est adapté à cette mise en exergue. 

D.L. – Pour Light ! quel a été le dialogue avec l’éclairagiste ? 

N.M. – Quand on regarde le générique de Light ! on remarque qu’il n’y a pas de poste "éclairagiste", pour la simple raison que  toute l'équipe y a collaboré. Seule dans les premiers temps de la recherche, j'ai tenté de façon expérimentale, intuitive, de comprendre quelque chose à ce phénomène  de l’ombre, sans bagage technique qui me serait venu de l'extérieur, afin de trouver un rapport "premier", naïf avec elle... Puis, de notre régisseur général (Pierre Stoffyn) à la costumière (Colette Huchard) en passant par le régisseur de plateau (Mikha Wajnrych), tout le monde a apporté sa petite pierre à l'édifice, sans oublier Patrick Bonté, metteur en scène, qui crée la lumière de la plupart de nos spectacles... Nous avons également fait appel aux conseils de Marc Elst du Théâtre du Tilleul, dont la technique de l’ombre est la spécialité. Mais il était essentiel ici d’aborder l’ombre dans ce qu’elle a de premier, et non par la connaissance technique qu’en a le théâtre. Qu’est ce que l’ombre ? Quelle est sa charge symbolique, fantasmatique ? Comment agit-elle sur nous au quotidien ? Les techniques se sont créées sur place, même si elles en rejoignent de déjà existantes.

D.L. – Le spectateur ne comprend pas toujours si le corps est devant ou derrière l’écran…

N.M. – En fait le corps n’est jamais derrière l’écran. C’est la confrontation de ce personnage circulant et de l’ombre qu’il produit comme malgré lui qui nous intéressait. L’ombre et le personnage sont presque tout le temps mis en présence.
Dans le travail du costume, il y a eu une volonté d’indépendance, de différencier au maximum ombre et corps, rendre l’un et l’autre autonomes : les costumes sont très colorés, quand l’ombre s’habille de noir. D’autre part, nous avons observé comment un détail vestimentaire peut être amplifié, modifié complètement à l’endroit de l’ombre qu’il produit. C’était aussi opposer le relief du corps à l’aplat de l’ombre…
Tous les moyens vidéos si séduisants et si accessibles aujourd’hui, ont été oubliés pour ne garder que des mises en rapport en temps réel. Ils risquaient ici de nous faire perdre le fil, ce fil ténu, du rapport entre une solitude et son double négatif. Tout ce qu’on voit est l’histoire d’un corps-obstacle qui crée, entre la lumière et l’écran, un autre corps plus fantasmatique que lui. Et c’est ce rapport de force qu’il fallait concentrer.

D.L. – Le corps crée son propre cadre… ? 

N.M. – Oui, et son débordement de cadre, comme quand l’ombre, trop grande, se répand au delà de l’écran, dans ce no-man’s land où est planté le décor. J’ai aujourd’hui envie d’expérimenter ces rapports de proportions, de taille, d’échelle, en manipulant des objets et en les mettant en rapport avec la taille du corps humain... les prémices en sont dans Light !

D.L. – Ce rapport fait lien dans ta recherche. Il semble aussi que dans Générations les corps se protègent, créent du cadre les uns par rapport aux autres ? 

N.M. – Ils ne se protègent pas, ils s’exposent. Générations, c’est une installation/performance de deux heures trente destinée à des friches industrielles, et qui parfois est présentée en extérieur, comme nous venons de l’expérimenter à Périgueux. Les douze danseurs sont posés sur des dalles lumineuses qui indiquent l’endroit où ils seraient tombés, un peu comme des météorites. Le spectateur a la possibilité de regarder chaque danseur sur toutes ses faces, ce qui peut susciter un sentiment de grande vulnérabilité chez l’interprète … Il peut également "zoomer" en s’approchant, ou effectuer des sortes de travellings en bougeant autour d’eux. Il a le loisir de s’installer près de tel ou tel danseur, de voir les onze autres ou pas. Certains y lisent une grande solitude, d’autres perçoivent d’abord la connexion, qui est réelle, entre les danseurs.

D.L. – Est-ce qu’on peut dire qu’il y a une manière d’aborder l’espace scénique dans ton travail ? 

N.M. - À chaque fois la décision est à prendre. Dans Générations, on a cherché à contraster avec le milieu naturel. Spectateur comme danseur, tout le monde est, sinon éclairé, à vue. La seule frontière, la seule distance entre le corps transposé, le corps en mouvement, et les spectateurs, c’est d’une part la lumière et d’autre part cette dalle où le danseur est posé. Le spectateur peut circuler, entrer/sortir. Se pose dès lors la question de son rôle. Il n’est pas si évident pour le public de se permettre de sortir, de circuler autour de quelque chose qui est vivant, de présences humaines. Les gens ont plutôt tendance à s’asseoir, à rester en place.

D.L.  Dans ce "dispositif", la danse est-elle en opposition avec l’espace ? 

N.M. – En tout cas elle ne cherche pas à s’intégrer dans le lieu, d’autant plus qu’il est à chaque fois de nature différente : après une friche industrielle, nous nous sommes retrouvés au bout de la jetée Thiers d’Arcachon... 

D.L. – Concernant Jonction Nord-Midi, comment ce projet de parcours entre les trois gares de Bruxelles a été conçu par rapport à une scénographie urbaine, la scénographie de lieux déjà existants ? 

N.M.– Les gares sont des lieux tellement bouleversants, par la densité des présences, du son ambiant... Elles dégagent une force telle que tout le travail de préparation en studio devait à chaque fois y être éprouvé, et s’en trouvait grandement modifié. Et puis, à chaque gare où Jonction a été présenté par la suite, correspond une nouvelle écriture, un scénario approprié... Stylistiquement, le mot d’ordre était : rester simple, sinon rien n’était lisible dans la complexité du lieu. Il nous fallait systématiquement banir le petit, le confidentiel, et développer une gestuelle très ouverte, très directement lisible.
Pour Générations j’ai eu envie de mettre les danseurs plus en évidence, plus à distance du spectateur pour développer librement ces états d’étrangeté qui sont inhérents à notre langage. Dans les gares, il y a énormément d’interdits : un corps couché, c’est inadmissible... les gens détournent le regard.

D.L. – On se trouve dans un espace réel qui continue à vivre, je pense aux gares. Dans ce sens, aujourd’hui on nous donne à voir énormément d’images, en saisir de plus en plus sans en percevoir le sens. Dans le travail que vous faites avec la compagnie, quelle est plus précisément votre rapport à l’image ? 

N.M. – Pour nous, travailler l’image, et à partir de l’image, est une démarche tout à fait naturelle. La Belgique est un pays de peintres, avant tout... Nous avons longtemps utilisé la "boîte noire", la frontalité. Mais sans être dans l’aplat, la lumière, généralement traitée en latéral, créant du relief.
On a eu à un moment donné besoin de casser cette vitre, cette protection qu’offre le dispositif traditionnel du théâtre : les spectateurs dans le noir, les acteurs en face, isolés par la lumière, souvent surélevés.... On s’est alors rendu compte que le rapport à l’étrange, à la violence était tout différent.
L’image qui circule "de nos jours" est généralement cadrée par l’écran... là on peut "laisser faire", on se sent en tant que spectateur tout à fait protégé. Mais quand cette violence ou simplement un décalage s’introduit dans le territoire du quotidien, ça change tout... Même la suggestion de ça, à moins que ce ne soit sous le couvert d’un humour très marqué, est inadmissible, en tout cas mal perçue...

D.L.– Vous avez très directement travaillé sur la peinture avec Les Dernières Hallucinations de Lucas Cranach l’Ancien, et comme pour Light ! on peut suivre un développé bidimensionnel. Quelle est l’influence de la peinture dans ce traitement bidimensionnel ?  

N.M. – Dans Light !  l’aplat de l’ombre est évident, mais dans Cranach...
L’action se situe dans un grand mur percé de fenêtres où les corps apparaissent. Le relief est créé par la lumière qui prend la plupart du temps les figures de côté : c’est là que se situe notre intervention par rapport à la peinture. Que peut-on montrer de Cranach après Cranach ? Sa peinture est tellement magnifique : pourquoi ne pas envoyer les gens voir ses tableaux ? Notre rôle a été de communiquer, de faire part de la sensation que nous, aujourd’hui, pouvons avoir devant ses oeuvres : nous avons imaginé les personnages de ses portraits dans ce qu’ils vivaient un peu avant, un peu après, nous avons fantasmé à partir de leur immobilité… Le spectacle parle en fait de ce qui peut se passer en nous quand notre regard se trouble. Dans le titre du spectacle, il y a “hallucinations”...

D.L. – C’est partir de l’aplat pour en extirper une vision, quelque chose du vivant ? 

N.M. – Oui, c’est cela...

D.L. – Et dans Twin Houses ?

N.M. – La scénographie de Twin Houses, où je suis en présence de marionnettes, a connu bien des avatars. Au départ, des escaliers qui descendaient des cintres, montaient du sol, il y avait des socles partout. Cette complexité répondait au fantasme des personnages, ces femmes renardes errant dans des dédales de couloirs. On a joué le spectacle tel quel, trois fois. En avant-première, on s’est rendu compte que quelque chose ne se passait pas alors qu’il y avait de bons prémices en répétition. On a tout jeté, gardé deux socles, et le spectacle a trouvéson souffle. C’est à dire que travaillant sur des marionnettes à figures humaines, jouant sur cette illusion du corps vivant – qui est la poupée, qui est la danseuse ? – il ne fallait absolument pas le situer dans un espace réel, défini, puisque tout est sensé se passer "à l’intérieur de la tête"...
C’est un cas extrême, mais on va souvent vers une simplification de la scénographie, et il en va de même pour les objets : un grand nombre circule pendant les répétitions et finalement on en garde un ou deux. Pourquoi ? Pour permettre au spectateur de fantasmer ce rapport qu’on peut avoir à l’objet, à l’espace, le laisser imaginer, rêver sur les entre-deux laissés vides pour lui.  

D.L. – Il y a donc une matière qu’il s’agirait de nettoyer lors du passage au plateau, à la concrétisation du dispositif ? 

N.M. – Oui, mais contrairement à la danse "pure", on a besoin de se confronter d’abord à la matière pour trouver ensuite cette simplicité. Il faut s’y mesurer, il faut comprendre. On n’est pas dans l’air comme peut l’être la danse. On est dans un rapport très concret aux éléments, et ce n’est que petit à petit qu’on retire l’objet/prothèse. On reste comme ça, avec un bras en moins, avec cette espèce de handicap, de manque. C’est peut-être ça qui nous fait agir sur un plateau. L’objet n’est plus là, le partenaire n’est plus là – ou il est là sans qu’on le regarde dans les yeux, on le pressent, on a l’impression qu’il est là. Comme si on demandait toujours au spectateur de nous dire où on est, pourquoi on y est, c’est à lui de donner les réponses. Il a un travail de re-création à accomplir. Admettons deux acteurs ou un acteur et un objet, s’ils ont un rapport trop direct, le spectateur est exclu. Il faut que le rapport soit suffisamment ouvert, dégagé, pour que le spectateur puisse s’y glisser, qu’il ne devienne pas le voyeur d’une chose qui ne le concerne pas mais bien qu’il se sente personnellement impliqué.  

D.L. – Finalement il y a aussi quelque chose de l’ordre de la sculpture dans votre travail : enlever de la matière et laisser au spectateur le travail de recomposition… 

N.M. –  On ne sait jamais dans quel présent chaque spectateur se trouve, et où son imaginaire peut l’emmener. Dans Générations on a vu que c’est soit le lien, soit la solitude qui est évoqué, deux données apparemment contradictoires.

D.L. – Quel est votre rapport avec les plasticiens dans le travail?

N.M. – Antony Gormley a beaucoup inspiré Générations. Nous devions travailler ensemble, et puis finalement son œuvre était tellement sous-jacente au travail du corps qu’il n’y avait plus aucune nécessité de la donner à voir en même temps…
Avec nos collaborateurs, qu’ils soient musiciens ou plasticiens, s’établit toujours un rapport à la fois de force et de respect mutuel : comment être complémentaires sans dire la même chose, comment ne pas étouffer la parole de l’autre avec ses propres mots? Ne pas être redondant... Il faut créer des tensions entre nous mais aussi des sortes d’appels d’air...
Il faut créer du vide !