The body in its prolongations

‘‘It is not a question of creating a digression, but more of projecting a clear reality upon an enormous imaginary screen.’’ Pavese, Le Métier de vivre.

Exercise No.1

Prepare a beverage of your choice, place the glass or cup on a table and seat yourself nearby, such that the receptacle stays just out of reach.
A moment of contemplation, then close your eyes.
Extend your hand as if to take the object, without actually moving your pelvis, which remains in place on the chair.
You are thus effectuating a prolongation, a projection of your intention.  This situation may lead to various transformations throughout the body, the side of the body of the extended hand being the most susceptible: the stretch of a muscle, a little more space between the ribs, a chain of modifications is undergone by each articulation, from the very last phalanges of your fingers just until your sitting hips, there is also most likely a change of pressure in your feet: your tonus is perturbed…
Above all else, it’s your state of being that changes, you find yourself carried by the intention, which moves through you and continues beyond you.  Between the ground, the chair, the extended hand and the object, a network is born, a network in which you are both receiver and transmitter.
In certain of our performances such initiating motors are prevalent and in what follows I wish to elaborate on their specificities.

Light! (2003): the fold

This performance probably best exemplifies the notion of prolongation, as the body receives light, but also creates an obstacle for it through its opacity, projecting shadows that endlessly deform into the creation of monsters who resemble us, disproportionate silhouettes, phantasmic flares or somber masses with the most abstract of contours – which evoke simultaneously the extension of our ‘‘dark ideas’’ and the threat of dissolving into them.
The body must always be situated with a precision that is almost mathematical – from the point of view of distance and angulation – in relation to the source of light on one hand and shadows on the other.  It is in dialogue with the light, with the shadow giving its interpretation, that a deformed echo intervenes in the conversation in a way that is always tempestuous, buffoon, excessive.
Like our imaginary fears, it multiplies the details, amplifies the murmur, dilates what is minuscule: a finger, placed just next to a light source, unleashes a somber tide by the mere undulation of a finger, the arc of a leg creates a mountain, a foot an avalanche….  The body’s very rhythm is reinterpreted by the shadows: the very same, made larger, by a displaced arm, reproduces the movement at a quicker speed, while crossing a vastly greater distance (creating the difficulty, in rehearsal, of finding the ‘‘right rhythm for the shadow’’ such that it remains intact and visible).
Small details pertaining to costuming may also lead to substantial deformations:  a fur coat transforms the body into a gigantic hairy monster; the roundness of a kneepad becomes a turgid prepuce.
Everything is conceived so that the shadow, with its ephemeral, inconsistent and bi-dimensional nature, acquires a certain depth, becomes tangible, palpable, finds its own breath and is autonomous.  So that it appears to dominate the person from whom it originates, subjugating them, taking them by the hand, or by the skin on their back, into the maze of its own mania.

Twin Houses (1994): the shoulder

In this piece life is breathed into silhouettes that are hung on the body:  several figures take turns inhabiting the shoulder of the performer, such that the two find themselves engaged in an often conflictual, sometimes harmonious relationship, obliged to share, like Siamese twins, the same bodily entity.
If in Light! The prolongation is of an epidermic nature – the inner-intention being to traverse the body while amplifying its contours, the ‘‘swelling’’ of the shadow – in
Twin Houses the aim is to render one’s own center sufficiently stable and solid, in order to slide past the intention and impulse and arrive at the vital center of the mannequin located at the base of its neck, the meeting place of the two entities (sliding toward a peripheral zone, its hand for example, makes the gestures too mechanical.)
At the same time, to efface one’s self, thus giving the figure the appearance of operating on its own initiative, of thinking for itself, of having an inner-world to express, so that finally the two presences become equal, to the degree to which we are not sure which is living and which is not.
It’s a form of prolongation that we’d say was destined to be brought to life by the loss of life and yet asks to be more than ever centered, present in its own right, so as to never lose the connection with the projections, just as one holds fast to a kite in contrary winds.

Gradiva (1998): the thread

In a completely different manner, in Gradiva, the body itself becomes a prolongation by way of a cord manipulated from backstage that descends from the gridiron to a vertical position and controls the body by a belt supporting the pelvis.
The body loses a part of its own weight, creating fleeting images in the surrounding space: drawing oblique and stable lines that its weight would normally make impossible, letting itself be carried by centrifugal forces, seeming to fly, to be seated in the void.
The prolongation has a double sense: on one hand, there’s the person behind, controlling the cord, on the other is the performer: two impulses are at times in tandem (pushing off from the ground with the added tension of the cord makes for higher elevation) and at others in opposition to each other, when the cord endlessly drags the performer back to their place in the center of a circle where they are attached and constrained to move.
Elevation, lightness, but also tension and extreme dependence, in order to tell the story of a diva, both powerful in her magnified solitude and a simple marionette….

Générations (2004): cardinal directions

We have instigated performances/solos, in which the establishment of a dialogue with one or another element permits the performer to not be the subject, but rather a place of transmission and perhaps of transfer for the audience.
In Générations, a group of dancers, perched on pedestals that they do not vacate, create a kind of network: their gestures – always fed by a relationship with the exterior, the space or a partner – are what allow for the rendering of an ‘‘in-between’’, modes of transmission that are visible and ‘‘palpable to the eye’’.
One of the first ways of approaching the material was through improvisations; two by two the performers shared some of their weight with the other, while moving symbiotically.  They then had to separate, without further tactile or visual contact and observe what, in their present condition, was left over in their bodies: gestures of the incomplete are born, creating forms that will be further investigated in what follows.  They leave the performer in a state of precarious balance, with body-parts that seem to embrace the void, with a head that seeks to conspire with another head, now absent.  This solitude is redistributed in the space and put into the network, and with empathy as a guide, each dancer in a way completes, at a distance, the emptiness that surrounds each of the others.
These research labs led to a larger installation, destined for non-theatrical spaces, in which a frontal view is abandoned to allow for various angles of vision:  the audience is free to circulate as they will, choosing their own point of view.
This network contains ‘‘points of escape’’, shared directions chosen according to cardinal directions:  converging and non-parallel directions create a shared ‘‘elsewhere’’ in which each body has its own orientation.  In each attempt to flee, they confirm the connections between them, while creating openings that will in turn be ‘‘restructured’’ by the audience as they move about:  the audience members’ points of view also serve as prolongations, which intersect, accompany or ‘‘evade’’ those of the performer.
During the performance it often comes down to the same: the interference between the audience and the stage, between each individual (with the particularity of each point of view, their history and imagination) and that which is suggested on stage by the bodies, the energies, the sound, the sense underlying the whole.
What is important for us, in the end, is the prolongation that the audience will effectuate, in a manner that is more or less conscious, in daily life, in their dreams, in their own creative acts – whatever form they make take…

Exercise No.2

You may now take the receptacle abandoned on the table and calmly drink its contents …

Le corps dans ses prolongements

"Il ne s'agit pas de se livrer à une digression, mais de projetter une réalité nette sur un énorme écran imaginaire." Pavese, Le métier de vivre

Exercice n°1

Préparez une boisson de votre choix, posez le verre ou la tasse sur une table, et asseyez-vous à proximité, de façon à ce que le récipient reste hors de votre portée.
Contemplez-le un instant, et puis fermez  les yeux.
Tendez alors la main comme pour prendre  l’objet, sans toutefois déplacer votre bassin, toujours posé sur la chaise.
Vous effectuez ainsi un prolongement, une projection de votre intention. Cette situation peut entraîner des transformations à travers tout le corps, plus sensibles du côté de la main tendue: un étirement musculaire, un élargissement de l’espace entre les côtes, une modification dans chacune des articulations qui s’échelonnent des dernières phalanges de vos doigts jusqu’à l’assise de vos hanches, et probablement un changement de pression dans vos pieds: votre tonus en est perturbé …
Mais surtout, c’est tout votre état d’être qui change, vous vous trouvez porté par l’intention qui vous traverse et continue au-delà de vous. Entre le sol, la chaise, la main tendue et l’objet, naît un réseau dans lequel vous êtes à la fois récepteur et transmetteur.
Des sources motrices de même ordre prévalent dans certains de nos spectacles, dont je voudrais ici souligner les spécificités.

Light ! (2003) : le pli

Ce spectacle est peut-être le plus exemplatif de la notion de prolongement, puisque le corps y reçoit de la lumière, et, lui faisant obstacle dans son opacité, projette des ombres, déformées à loisir pour créer des monstres qui nous ressemblent, des sihouettes disproportionnées, des flous fantasmatiques, ou de sombres masses aux contours plus abstraits qui évoquent à la fois l’extension de nos "idées noires", et la menace de dissolution en elles.
Le corps doit toujours se situer avec une précision quasi mathématique – au point de vue de la distance et de l’angulation – par rapport à la source lumineuse d’une part, au support pour l’ombre d’autre part. Il dialogue avec la lumière, et l’ombre en donne son interprétation, un écho déformé qui intervient dans la conversation d’une manière toujours intempestive, bouffone, excessive.
A l’instar de nos peurs imaginaires, elle décuple le détail, amplifie le murmure, dilate l’infime : un doigt, placé tout près de la source lumineuse, déclenche de sombres marées en ondulant à peine, l’arc d’une jambe se fait montagne, le pied éboulement… Le rythme même du corps est réinterprété par l’ombre : celle, agrandie, d’un bras en déplacement, reproduit le mouvement à une vitesse plus élevée, quand elle parcourt dans le même temps une distance bien supérieure (d’où la difficulté, en répétition, de trouver le "bon rythme de l’ombre", pour qu’elle ne s’effiloche pas, qu’elle reste lisible).
De petits détails vestimentaires subissent aussi d’absurdes déformations : une veste de fourrure dessine le corps d’un gigantesque monstre poilu, l’arrondi d’une genouillère un grand prépuce turgescent…
Tout est conçu pour que l’ombre, par essence fugace, inconsistante et bi-dimensionnelle, acquière une profondeur, devienne tangible, palpable, trouve sa propre respiration, son autonomie. Pour qu’elle semble dominer le personnage dont elle est issue, qu’elle le subjugue, l’emmène par la main, ou par la peau du dos, dans les dédales de son délire.

Twin Houses (1994) : l’épaule

Il s’agit ici de donner vie à des silhouettes accrochées au corps: plusieurs figures occupent tour à tour l’une ou l’autre  épaule de l’interprète, et tous deux se trouvent engagés dans une relation souvent conflictuelle, parfois plus harmonieuse, contraints de partager, comme des frères siamois, une même entité corporelle.
Si, dans Light !, le prolongement se fait plutôt de façon épidermique – l’intention intérieure traversant la peau et amplifiant ses contours, la "gonflant" d’ombre –, dans Twin Houses le jeu consiste à rendre son propre centre suffisamment stable, solide, pour opérer un glissement de toute intention, de toute impulsion, vers le point vital du mannequin, situé chez lui à la base du cou, point de rencontre entre les deux corps (opérer ce glissement vers une zone périphérique, sa main par exemple, rendrait la gestuelle trop mécanique).
Dans le même temps, s’effacer, et donner à la figure l’apparence de prendre les initiatives, de "penser", d’avoir un monde intérieur qui s’exprime, afin que les deux présences tendent à s’équivaloir, au point recherché où l’on ne sait plus qui est vivant et qui ne l’est pas.
Forme de prolongement qu’on dirait destiné à insuffler de la vie en la perdant, mais qui pourtant demande à être plus que jamais centré, présent en soi, afin de ne jamais perdre le fil de ses projections, comme on tiendrait des cerfs-volants pris dans des vents contraires.

Gradiva (1998) : le fil

Tout autre chose dans Gradiva où c’est le corps lui-même qui devient le prolongement d’une corde manipulée depuis l’arrière du plateau, puis descendant à la verticale des cintres, et le maintenant par une sangle qui soutient le bassin.
Le corps perd ainsi une partie de son poids propre, pour créer des fuyantes dans l’espace alentour : dessiner des lignes obliques et stables que la pesanteur lui interdirait, se laisser porter par des forces centrifuges, ébaucher des semblants de vols, se tenir assis dans le vide.
Le prolongement se fait à double sens : d’une part, par la personne tenant la corde à l’arrière, d’autre part par l’interprète : deux impulsions qui tantôt vont de concert (un repoussé du sol doublé d’une traction du fil amplifient l’élévation), tantôt s’opposent, quand la corde par exemple ramène inlassablement le corps au centre du plateau, alors qu’il tente de traverser les limites du cercle dans lequel, attaché, il est contraint de se mouvoir.
Elévation, légèreté, mais aussi tension, dépendance extrême, pour raconter l’histoire d’une diva à la fois toute puissante dans sa solitude magnifiée, et simple marionnette…

Générations (2004) : les points cardinaux

Nous avons abordé des situations de spectacles/solos, où l'établissement d'un dialogue avec l'un ou l'autre élément permet à l'interprète de ne plus être sujet, mais bien lieu de transmission, et peut-être de transfert pour le spectateur.
Dans Générations, un grand nombre de danseurs forment, campés sur des socles qu’ils ne quitteront pas, une sorte de réseau: leur gestuelle – toujours nourrie par la relation avec l’extérieur, l’espace ou les partenaires – devrait arriver à rendre les "entre-deux", les canaux de transmission, visibles, "palpables pour l’œil".
Une des premières approches consistait à improviser deux par deux, en donnant une partie de son poids à l’autre, en bougeant en symbiose. Ensuite il fallait se séparer, sans plus garder de contact tactile ni visuel, et prendre en compte ce qui dans cette nouvelle situation restait présent dans le corps: une gestuelle de l’incomplétude est née, dont nous élaborerons les formes par la suite. Elle laisse la personne dans un état d’équilibre précaire, avec des membres qui semblent embrasser le vide, avec une tête qui cherche la complicité d’une autre tête, absente. Ces solitudes sont alors redistribuées dans l’espace et mises en réseau, avec pour guide  l’empathie, chaque danseur complétant en quelque sorte, à distance, le vide créé autour de chacun des autres.
Les laboratoires ont donné lieu à une grande installation, destinée à des espaces non théâtraux et où la vision frontale est abandonnée au profit de visions multiples : le spectateur sera libre de circuler à sa guise, de choisir ses propres angles de vue.
À ce réseau comporte des "points de fuite", des directions communes choisies selon les les points cardinaux : directions convergentes et non parallèles, qui créent des "ailleurs" communs, sans que l'orientation des corps soit identique. Ces fuyantes confirment les liens entre eux tout en apportant des ouvertures qui seront à leur tour "recadrées" par le spectacteur en déplacement : il opère, lui aussi, par son regard, des prolongements qui viendront croiser, accompagner, ou "biaiser" ceux des interprètes.
Il s'agit toujours un peu de cela, dans le moment de la représentation : des interférences entre le public et la scène, entre chaque individu (et la particularité de son histoire, de son imaginaire), et ce qui est suggéré sur le plateau par des corps, des énergies, des sons, du sens donné. 
Et ce qui nous importe finalement, c'est ce prolongement que le spectateur effectuera, de façon plus ou moins consciente, dans son quotidien, dans sa vie rêvée, dans ses propres créations – quelques formes qu'elles prennent... 

Exercice n°2

Vous pouvez à présent saisir le récipient abandonné sur la table, et en boire tranquillement le contenu…