Press

Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté like to auscultate the social beings we are, by scrutinizing internal cleavages and (in)voluntary gestures. In Histoire de l’Imposture they also take a look at dress codes. As the saying goes: The clothes make the man. Apparently, no matter the era, only nudity is neutral. It all begins under the sign of a whiteness that is skin deep, but the state of innocence is quickly lost.
The eviction from paradise (of dreams) takes place on an icy cloud, where flashes crackle like explosions.  As they dress, 16th century costumes little by little replace the performers’ modern day attire. Once the flashback dressing is done, the waltz may commence, with seductive gestures and false smiles. A grotesque hesitation here, a monstrous discord there… Under a luminous projectile five self-portraits reveal that which separates them from what they appear to be.

It was so at court, as it is today in the street, at work or out dancing: one is constantly performing. Like the truth of the flesh that hides under its accoutrements, one wears   such an assortment of accessory-like gestures to stand out. And often, one overacts and conforms to a repertory of gestures that are so stereotypical they lose their credibility. This is precisely what Sébastien Jacobs, Leslie Mannès, Frauke Mariën, Maxence Rey and Marco Torrice let us see in a chilly photographer’s studio; it is the place where such poses and postures are most overexposed and unnatural. The performers’ work includes a good dose of irony while both affirming and revealing the nuances of the quality and surface of identity.

But why the historical costumes? The play of abusive identities is present in every period. By looking at an engraving or a tableau from Elizabethan times, we have no trouble imagining all that transpired behind the ‘official’ gestures. And if their personalities started to dance, inspired by today’s rhythms? Would their postures become impostures? Or, inversely, would our imposture erase those represented on the canvas?
This is precisely what we get from video games and interactive animation, in which all usurpations become possible. The Brussels duo meld ancient costumes with the rave and techno rituals of today, the trance trend. Similar to the work of Trajal Harrell, in which, in another register, the choreography imagined bringing the dancers from Judson Church together with the popular dance trend of voguing.

Though Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté have led their research into the complex relation between the body, the conscience and the subconscious for nearly thirty years, we’ve rarely seen the performers ‘dance’ as much as they do here. The physical energy expended at the end is reminiscent of that which is liberated through tribal dances… Perhaps the sole state free of imposture?

Thomas Hahn, Danser Canal Historique / February 2014

Presse

Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté aiment à ausculter l’être social que nous sommes, à partir des clivages intérieurs et de nos gestes (in)volontaires. Dans Histoire de l’imposture ils ajoutent un regard sur les codes vestimentaires. Et comme nous le savons : Si l’habit ne fait pas le moine, c’est qu’il fait le citoyen! Quelle que soit l’époque, seule la nudité est neutre, apparemment. Aussi, tout commence ici sous le signe la blancheur cutanée. Mais l’état d’innocence est vite perdu, il faut bien se laver tous mes matins!
L’éviction du paradis (des rêves) se joue ici sur un nuage de glace, où les flashs crépitent telles des explosions. On s’habille, et petit à petit, des costumes XVIe siècle remplacent les habits de ville modernes. Le flash-back vestimentaire accompli, la valse peut commencer, avec ses gestes de séduction et ses faux sourires. Une grotesque hésitation par-ci, une discordance monstrueuse par-là, les cinq autoportraits révèlent, sous des obus lumineux, ce qui les sépare de leur apparence.

Comme jadis à la cour, comme aujourd’hui dans la rue, au travail et au bal, évidemment, on joue. A l’instar de cette vérité des chairs qui se cache sous l’accoutrement, on porte tout un attirail de gestes en guise de parure, pour se mettre en lumière. Et souvent, on surjoue, en se conformant à un répertoire gestuel stéréotypé, jusqu’à en perdre sa crédibilité. C’est ce que Sébastien Jacobs, Leslie Mannès, Frauke Mariën, Maxence Rey et Marco Torrice donnent à voir dans ce studio photo un brin glacé, car c’est le lieu par excellence où les poses et postures sont toujours surexposées, jamais naturelles. Le jeu des interprètes inclut une fine portion d’ironie, à la fois fixateur et révélateur des nuances support/surface d’une identité.

Mais pourquoi ces costumes historisants ? Le jeu avec une identité abusive est de tous temps. En regardant une gravure ou un tableau de l’époque élisabéthaine, nous n’avons aucun mal à imaginer le refoulé derrière le geste "officiel".  Et si leurs personnages se mettaient à danser, inspirés de rythmes actuels ? Leurs postures en deviendraient-elles impostures ? Ou, inversement, notre imposture effacerait-elle  celles qui sont représentées sur les toiles ?
Voilà qui nous renvoie aux jeux vidéo et aux animations interactives, où désormais toutes les usurpations deviennent possibles. Aussi, le duo bruxellois croise costumes anciens et rituels de rave ou techno d’aujourd’hui, tendance transe, un peu comme, dans un autre registre, Trajal Harrell essaye d’imaginer, par la chorégraphie, ce qui serait arrivé si les danseurs de la Judson Church avaient rencontré le Voguing.

Alors que  Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté mènent depuis bientôt trente ans des recherches sur la relation complexe entre le corps, la conscience et l’inconscient, on a rarement vu les interprètes de la compagnie "danser" autant qu’ici. L’énergie physique déployée à la fin rappelle celle qui se libère dans des danses tribales. Le seul état sans imposture ?

Thomas Hahn, Danser Canal Historique / Février 2014