Press

The gentle and harsh power of Miniatures

At the 2015 Brigittines International Festival, Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté unveiled Vice Versa, the first short piece from a series of future Miniatures, that have just premièred at the Brigittines.

Frauke Mariën and Shantala Pèpe, two of the company’s regular performers, undulate in parallel in this haunting passage. With its imperceptible advances, its unexpected retreats, its sudden interruptions, this use of depth, from the back of the stage to the apron, rubs off on the words: using tenderness to overcome the pain which rules the world. In less than 20 minutes, we find ourselves in this marvellous yet tragic paradox, where beauty includes the worst in order to better transcend it.
The soundtrack is no stranger to Vice Versa’s subdued seduction, the oscillations of which espouse the monotonous medieval chant of Marianson’s Rings (voice of Michel Faubert, orchestration by Jérôme Minière, montage by Thomas Turine).

The innermost reaches of the unexplored

Three other short plays (a quarter of an hour maximum) are being added to that one to form a composite and coherent evening, influenced by strangeness, sensitivity and the unexplored, issues that the tandem of creators have been scrutinising for over thirty years.

Alecto opens the evening. A chair placed on a small pedestal, and a silhouette topped with tracery evoking Medusa. The pallor of the complexion contrasts with the hands, the extremities of which seem to be ravaged by obscurity, it’s not long before the shoulders, bristling with spines, reveal themselves. Vilma Pitrinaite portrays a vengeful and stubborn divinity in this toxic solo. Peril is brewing.

Presented not long ago at the National Theatre’s XS Festival, Alban is about a creature somewhere between a warrior, a bird and a mermaid. Victor Dumont gives shape to this slow and captivating struggle as life instincts and death wishes worm their way in.

The ensemble concludes in a more playful manner with (At) the Crack of Dawn, which reunites the three dancers in a sort of imaginary Sabbath, part-graceful, part-disturbing. Here too the costumes are designed by Patty Eggerickx.

The light which sculpted the bodies on a black background in the first three opuses draws back-lit contours in this one. But the white of the breaking dawn never truly does away with the melancholic solitudes which populate it…

Marie Baudet, La Libre / October 2018

 

Miniatures is the name given to a collection of four stories choreographed by Nicole Mossoux and Patrick Bonté between 2016 and 2018. Working intensely on the transformed body, on the importance of highlighting it, and on the musicality of the movements, these small pieces go straight to the heart of the matter, with an obligation for concision which renders them precise and striking (...).

First up is Alecto, a solo created in 2018, which has the characteristic of being danced seated. In it Vilma Pitrinaite portrays an ancient divinity, dark and disturbing, who only reveals herself progressively. Her lack of humanity is betrayed by her predatory, rather unnatural movements, as much as it is by the differences between her appearance and the human body: the head covered with white dreads reminiscent of snakes, the spines which cover various parts of her epidermis. Her dance is slow, reptilian, and has something of a mortal seduction about it.

Vice Versa, the oldest of the four pieces, was presented to Belgian audiences for the first time in 2015. It is a hypnotic duo for two female dancers, almost a ritual dance where the swaying of Frauke Mariën and Shantala Pèpe’s hips is done to the sound of Marianson’s Rings, a song with a medieval feel performed by the Quebec storyteller Michel Faubert, and put to music by Jérôme Minière who adds an accompaniment of muted choirs and electro sounds. The combination of all this makes for a fascinating result, the piercing music gives the dance a serious tempo, and the bitter words lead to sudden breaks in the choreography. The movements, initially kept to the back of stage, are progressively made in a corridor of light which leads the dancers to the first rows of the audience. Beautiful and almost oppressive.

Alban, solo created in 2017, comes third. The piece builds up a powerful universe around the dancer Victor Dumont, who moves around bare-chested and dressed in a large skirt. The work on the body is once again very present, the interplay with the lights, the use of profile spots to conjure away certain parts of his body in the dark, to better let loose those which remain in the light, with magnificent effects. A piece with a concentration of energy, full of slow, tense movements, twists and rotations. The music, which flirts with the concrete music, introduces the sounds of nature: running water, the impact of stones as they crash against one other… This gives, in counterpoint to the dance which is so intense you might say it’s tortured, a sort of primitive, telluric magic that is quite simply beautiful.

(At) The Crack of Dawn concludes the series. Created in 2018, it’s a trio made up of three dancers from the earlier pieces. Funnier and lighter than the previous ones, it takes place on a white background, silhouettes of dancers stand out against the backlighting. The three characters look for one another, with worried gestures, find themselves and hold themselves back, clinging onto one another in the half-dark. The movements are feverish, the lack of balance emphasises the fragility of the bodies. When the three are finally stripped of their clothes and shoes, they manage to establish some sort of dialogue. The final appearance of the light catches them half naked, the group with their backs turned at the rear of the stage. Their final glance at the audience is full of concern, reminiscent of that of wild animals, caught in the headlights.

The ensemble of four danced pieces is held together by clear denominators. Firstly, the search for physical expression in spite of a bare stage and very limited time. The lighting is given special consideration, as it delimits the space (Vice Versa) or as it serves to change the perception of bodies (Alban, Alecto). The body transformed, unexpected, more than human, is also a theme which some of the pieces have in common.

Mathieu Dochtermann, TouteLaCulture.com / October 2018

Presse

La force douce et rude des Miniatures

Au Festival international des Brigittines, en 2015, Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté dévoilaient Vice Versa, la première pièce courte d’une série de futures Miniatures, à présent dévoilées aux Brigittines.

Frauke Mariën et Shantala Pèpe, deux des interprètes fidèles de la compagnie, ondulent en parallèle dans cette traversée lancinante. Avec ses avancées imperceptibles, ses reculs imprévus, ses ruptures soudaines, ce jeu de profondeur, du fond du plateau à l’avant-scène, déteint sur le propos : résister par la douceur aux douleurs qui régissent le monde. En moins de 20 minutes, nous voilà emportés dans ce merveilleux et tragique paradoxe, où la beauté inclut le pire, pour mieux le transcender.
La bande-son n’est pas étrangère à la sourde séduction de Vice Versa, dont les oscillations épousent la mélopée médiévale des Anneaux de Marianson (voix de Michel Faubert, orchestration de Jérôme Minière, montage de Thomas Turine).

Les replis de l’inexploré

Trois autres pièces brèves (un quart d’heure tout au plus) sont venues s’ajouter à celle-là pour former une soirée composite et cohérente, traversée par l’étrangeté, la sensibilité, l’inexploré que sonde le tandem de créateurs depuis plus de trente ans.

C’est Alecto qui ouvre la soirée. Une chaise perchée sur un petit piédestal, et une silhouette coiffée d’un entrelacs évoquant Méduse. La pâleur du teint contraste avec les mains dont l’extrémité semble rongée par l’obscurité, tandis que bientôt se révèlent des épaules hérissées d’épines. Vilma Pitrinaite campe une divinité vengeresse et têtue dans ce solo vénéneux. La menace gronde.

Présenté naguère au festival XS du National, Alban met en scène une créature entre le guerrier, l’oiseau et la sirène. Victor Dumont donne corps à ce lent et captivant combat où s’insinuent les pulsions de vie et de mort.

L’ensemble se clôt de manière plus ludique, avec (At) the Crack of Dawn - qui réunit les trois danseuses dans une sorte de sabbat fantasque, mi-pimpant mi-inquiétant. Avec ici encore des costumes signés Patty Eggerickx.

La lumière qui sculptait les corps sur fond noir dans les trois premiers opus en dessine, dans celui-ci, les contours à contre-jour. Mais la blancheur de l’aube qui vient n’efface jamais vraiment les sombres solitudes qui la peuplent…

Marie Baudet, La Libre / Octobre 2018

 

Miniatures est le nom donné à un regroupement de quatre récits chorégraphiés par Nicole Mossoux et Patrick Bonté entre 2016 et 2018. Travaillant fortement sur le corps transformé, sur l’importance de la mise en lumière, et sur la musicalité du geste, ces petites pièces vont directement à l’essentiel, avec une obligation de concision qui les rend précises et frappantes (...).

Alecto d’abord, créé en 2018, est un solo, qui a la particularité d’être dansé assis. Vilma Pitrinaite y campe une divinité antique, sombre et inquiétante, qui ne se dévoile que progressivement. Son inhumanité se trahit dans ses mouvements prédateurs et peu naturels, autant que dans les différences que son apparence entretient avec le corps humain: la tête couverte de dreads blanches qui font penser à des serpents, les épines qui couvrent divers endroits de son épiderme. Sa danse est lente, reptilienne, avec quelque chose d’une vénéneuse séduction.

Vice Versa est la plus ancienne des quatre pièces, puisqu’elle fut présentée pour la première fois au public belge en 2015. Duo pour deux danseuses, il s’agit d’une danse presque rituelle, hypnotisante, où le balancement des hanches de Frauke Mariën et de Shantala Pèpe se fait au son de Les anneaux de Marianson, chanson aux accents médiévaux mise en paroles par le conteur québécois Michel Faubert, et mise en musique par Jérôme Minière qui y ajoute un accompagnement de choeurs sourds et de sons électro. L’alliance du tout donne un résultat fascinant, la musique lancinante donne un tempo grave à la danse, et les paroles âpres donnent lieu à des ruptures brutales dans la chorégraphie. Les déplacements, d’abord contraints à fond de scène, se déploient progressivement dans un couloir de lumière qui amène les danseuses jusqu’aux premiers rangs du public. Beau et presque oppressant.

Alban vient en troisième lieu. Solo créé en 2017, la pièce construit un univers très fort autour du danseur Victor Dumont, qui se meut torse nu et vêtu d’une grande jupe. Le travail sur le corps, encore une fois, est très présent, le jeu avec les lumières, très découpées, lui permettant d’escamoter certaines parties de son corps dans l’obscurité, pour mieux détacher celles qui restent en lumière, avec des effets magnifiques. Une pièce à l’énergie concentrée, toute en mouvements lents et tendus, en torsions et rotations. La musique, qui flirte avec la musique concrète, fait intervenir des bruits de la nature: écoulement de l’eau, choc des pierres les unes contre les autres… Cela donne, en contrepoint à la danse très intense au point qu’on pourrait la dire torturée, une sorte de magie primitive et tellurique. Terriblement beau.

(At) The Crack of Dawn enfin vient clore la série. Création 2018, il s’agit d’un trio formé par les trois danseuses des pièces précédentes. Plus drôle et plus léger que ces dernières, elle se déroule sur un fond blanc, les silhouettes des danseuses se découpant à contre-jour. Les trois personnages se cherchent, avec des gestes inquiets, se trouvent et se retiennent, s’agrippent dans la semi-obscurité. Les mouvements sont fébriles, le déséquilibre souligne la fragilité des corps. Quand les trois se sont finalement dépouillées de leurs robes et de leurs chaussures, elles arrivent à établir comme un dialogue. Le surgissement final de la lumière les surprend à moitié nues, le groupe tournant le dos à fond de scène. Le dernier regard qu’elles jettent au public, inquiet, fait penser à celui d’animaux sauvages surpris par les phares d’un véhicule.

L’ensemble des quatre pièces dansées se tient par des dénominateurs clairs. D’abord, la recherche de l’expressivité corporelle malgré un plateau nu et un temps extrêmement réduit. On retrouve également une soin particulier apporté aux lumières, en ce qu’elle découpent l’espace (Vice Versa) ou en ce qu’elles servent à métamorphoser la perception des corps (Alban, Alecto). Le corps transformé, inattendu, plus-qu’humain, est également un fil rouge qui relie certaines des pièces.

Mathieu Dochtermann, TouteLaCulture.com / Octobre 2018