Audience reactions

What would have interested me to discover: how such a performance is made. The synchronicity of the movements through space, the perfection of bodies intertwined with cords, the coincidental rhythm of each - by what invisible signs, which musical or lighting cues …

Oh how beautiful it all was!

When I spoke of the ‘idea of woman’: seeing Nicole Mossoux, I said to myself that all three women are surely a little bit her (I knew her a little and in person she’s very alluring). What I like: the determination and vulnerability, the intensity and fluidity, a cold gentleness, an on-going swing, each time more forceful or more quick, and also the versatility, the reversals, the spasms. The little girl’s swing, the hanged woman, the secretary, the exercise enthusiast, the lion-gazelle-bird-primate, running and flying, hanging, to hang oneself, turning one’s coat inside out, grey and intense red on the inside, all that one can do with a single article of clothing, even thrown on the floor, the sleeves that we thought impossible to dissimulate suddenly take the shape of a short scarlet skirt. Going faster than us, faster than everyone, to stay in flight, in creation, without anyone being able to make you fall, without the weight of passion, compassion, without violence or tension, in a lightness of spirit. Where is that place I seek in myself? What is the secret of these women? Do you have to do yoga, meditate, sing, dance? Yes, that must certainly have to do with how the body is used (as Nicholas Bouvier said: the use of the world). Words, what a trap.

Caroline Lamarche

 

The performance at the Halles is really enchanting: impossible not be carried away by an intense desire to participate in the swinging, the whirling, the running, the twirling, the ascensions, descents, soaring, the going and coming, the take offs and landings: all that magically takes us beyond a child-like and very physical desire to live the dream of mobility in the place of one of the choristers! Taken over, the jealously forgotten, because I’m not merely faced with a ‘spectacle’ but rather literally incorporated into the dance, the movement, the voices, the sounds. A violent energy is generated without anarchy. It is all executed with such synchronicity, the music, the live musicians with their daring voices so vibrant and affirmative! It is a form of plenitude rarely experienced, I must say, because the expectation, the hope, the hopelessness at the prospect of being consumed, transported, disoriented and bowled over are so out of proportion (for the audience members, like myself) that at times I despaired of not living the experience of unlimited rapture - without a second thought, without being distracted by a small obstinate song, sceptical and critical, somewhere in my head.

Jean Florence, Psychoanalyst

 

‘The story is in a loop. Our life cycles make circles. Different movements emulate the motion. The circumlocutions of our brains do not lead to our liberation, far from it. Are we puppets or puppet masters? Both? A dissonance resonates in the decoys, in familiar audibly distant silhouettes. The circle of time is the circus of our lives… Here the sound ruffles the surface of a symbiosis that struggles to establish itself - must it be reunified? A doubt is cast. The scene of this flying ballet, yet another circle, gives us hope for flight. But is it for the best?

Christian Provaux

 

The discovery: the composition of an aerial choreography that underscores the troubling kinetic music of Scelsi. Suspended by fine cords, three cross-legged dancers gravitate and engrave different tableaux in the air, suggesting both hangings and seduction. A shift toward performance would have been expected: it never comes. Dancers they are, dancers they stay, distorting notions of time and space.
The surprising geography transforms the simplest gestures into unreal images. Running without a floor, crossed legs without a chair… dancing without solid ground for support. Far from the fixed barre, the very contemporary aspect of the piece outlines a contemplative and dream-like performance that erases the words elongated, sitting and standing from our mental dictionary. When their movements are synchronised the dancers (with identical dress and hairstyles) create an image that is tripled, spectral, condensed, as if provoked by a visual disturbance, the crossing of hot with cold air, a dazzling halo that harbours another world we know does not exist yet is so magnetic that the pleasure leads us to accept the optical illusion. The compensation: a retinal perpetuity.

Mélanie Drouère, for Arcadi

Retours de spectateurs

Ce qui m'aurait intéressée : découvrir comment se fabrique un tel spectacle. La synchronicité des déplacements, la perfection des croisements de filins et de corps, la coincidence des rythmes de chacune, par quels signes invisibles, quels repères musicaux, de lumière...

Oh! comme c'était beau!

Quand je parlais de la "vision de la femme" : en voyant Nicole Mossoux, je me dis que les trois femmes sont un peu elle, sans doute (je la connais peu, elle est très attirante, pas seulement par les créations). Ce que j'aime: la détermination et la vulnérabilité, l'intensité et la fluidité, une froideur douce, le balancement régulier, toujours plus puissant, ou plus rapide, mais aussi la versatilité, les retournements, spasmes. La balancoire de la petite fille, la femme pendue, la secrétaire, la sportive, la lionne-gazelle-oiseau-primate, courir et voler, pendre, se pendre, retourner sa veste, le gris et le rouge intense à l'intérieur, tout ce qu'on fait avec un vêtement, même jeté sur le sol, les manches que l'on croit impossible à dissimuer et qui tout à coup deviennent "tournure" (on dit ça je crois) pour étoffer une sorte de jupon court écarlate. Aller plus vite que nous, plus vite que tous, pour rester dans l'envol, dans la création, sans que personne ne vous fasse "tomber", sans la lourdeur de la passion, de la compassion, sans violence ni tension, dans la légèreté de l'esprit. Où est ce lieu de moi que je cherche? quel est le secret de ces femmes? Faut-il faire du yoga, de la méditation, du chant, de la danse? Oui, cela doit avoir à faire avec l'usage du corps (comme Nicolas Bouvier disait : l'usage du monde). Les mots, quel piège.

Caroline Lamarche

 

Le spectacle aux Halles est un véritable enchantement: impossible de ne pas se sentir emporté dans une intense participation à ces balancements, tournoiements, courses, virevoltes, acensions, descentes, planers,  allers, venues, envols, atterrissages: voilà qui fait comme par magie  dépasser l'envie si enfantine, si physique, de vivre ce rêve de mobilité à la place des choreutes!  Dépassée, oubliée cette jalousie, parce que je ne suis plus en face d'un "spectacle", mais littéralement  incorporé par la danse, le mouvement, les voix, les sons. Violente énergie déployée sans anarchie. Et cela, porté par  quel accord, quelle synchronie avec la musique, avec ces musiciens vivants, vibrants, ces voix risquées, affirmées! Une forme de plénitude, rarement éprouvée, dois-je le dire, parce que l'attente, l'espoir, le désespoir d'être saisi, transporté, désorienté, bouleversé sont tellement démesurés (chez le spectateur  impatient que je suis) que parfois je désespère de vivre l' expérience de me sentir  rapté sans réserve ni arrière-pensée, sans  être distrait par une petite  chanson têtue, sceptique,  critique dans un coin de la tête.

Jean Florence, Psychanalyste

 

"L'histoire est en boucle. Nos cycles de vies font des cercles. Les mouvances émulent le mouvement. Les circonvolutions de nos cerveau ne mènent pas à notre libération, loin de là. Sommes nous les pantins ou les marionnettistes ? Les deux ? Dissonances qui résonnent aux miroirs d'alouettes en tailleur, silhouettes familières volubilement distantes. Le cercle du temps le cirque de nos vies... Le son ici ride la symbiose qui peine à s'établir, devrait-il réunifier? L'envol d'un doute. La scène de votre ballet volant, un cercle encore, donne l'espoir de l'envol. Mais serait-il salutaire ?"

Christian Provaux

 

La trouvaille : écrire une chorégraphie aérienne pour souligner la musique troublante, cinétique, de Scelsi. Suspendues par des filins, trois danseuses en tailleur gravitent et gravent des tableaux dans les airs, suggérant aussi bien pendaison que séduction. Un basculement vers la performance serait attendu : il ne viendra pas. Danseuses elles sont, danseuses elles resteront, distordant les notions d’espace et de temps.
Cette surprenante géographie mue les gestes les plus simples en images irréelles.
Courir sans sol, croiser les jambes sans chaise... danser sans appui. Fort loin de la barre fixe, le parti pris très contemporain dessine un spectacle contemplatif, onirique, qui gomme de notre dictionnaire les mots allongé, assis, debout. Coiffées et habillées à l’identique, lorsque leurs mouvements se synchronisent, les danseuses livrent une image triplée, défalquée, spectrale, comme provoquée par un trouble visuel, un croisement de courants d’air chaud et d’air froid, nimbe éblouissant qui accueille un troisième monde, dont on sait qu’il n’existe pas, mais si magnétique que le plaisir l’emporte de se laisser duper par l’illusion d’optique. Récompense : la persistance rétinienne. 

Mélanie Drouère, pour Arcadi