The intimate brought into play

Four men and four women circulate around a frontier: demarcation line, edge of a ditch, starting-gate.  They are like the involuntary sentinels of a forbidden world or a universe that needs saving.  Undoubtably our own.

They don't know anymore.

They are very concretely there, but their presence seems uncertain; all that they accomplish will be marked by doubt or rather an irreparable suspicion: is it really them gathered there and for what reason?  Do they really exist or are they just the incarnation of some monstrous dreamer?  These questions are beyond them, they are like the blind, walking assuredly in the darkness.
The performance presents this unique situation: eight people in a line, who occupy  a specific space, without depth, who are as if magnetized by the simple fact of being together.  They begin by frequently changing places, but never use the space behind or in front of them and by doing so preserve the very graphic character of the ensemble.

This constraint orients all the movements and frames all the micro-situations which develop based on a principle of laying bare and of simultaneity.  The organization of what is visible and the immediacy of perception allow for a certain play of complexity and a very particular kind of agitation.
It is of course a question of the group which is posed here, that of the impossibility and necessity of the community.  What is it that unifies us, in spite of or because of our differences?  For what reason are isolation and solitude indispensable for the solidarity of the ensemble?
The reflection upon or metaphor of social relations is constantly nourished by the fact of the intimate being brought into play, in a atmosphere where humor and peculiarity mingle.

Une mise en jeu de l'intime

Quatre hommes et quatre femmes circulent sur une frontière : ligne de démarcation, bord de fosse, départ de course. Ils sont comme les sentinelles involontaires dʼun monde interdit ou dʼun univers à préserver. Le nôtre, sans doute.

Ils ne le savent plus.

Ils sont très concrètement là, mais leur présence leur semble cependant incertaine ; tout ce quʼils accompliront sera marqué du doute, ou plutôt dʼun irrémédiable soupçon : est-ce bien eux, réunis là et pour quelle raison ? Existent-ils réellement, ne sont-ils pas lʼincarnation de quelque monstrueux rêveur ? Ces questions les dépassent, mais ils agissent comme des aveugles marchant avec assurance dans le noir.
Le spectacle met en scène cette unique situation : huit personnes en ligne, qui nʼoccupent que cet espace, sans aucune profondeur, comme aimantés par le fait dʼêtre ensemble. Ils le demeureront tout en changeant fréquemment de place, mais en nʼutilisant jamais lʼespace avant ou arrière et en maintenant le caractère très graphique de lʼensemble.

Cette contrainte oriente tous les mouvements et « cadre » toutes les micro-situations qui se développent sur un principe de mise à plat et de simultanéité. Lʼorganisation de la vision et lʼimmédiateté de la perception permettent de jouer sur des complexités et des troubles particuliers.
Bien sûr, cʼest la question du groupe qui se trouve ici posée, celle de lʼimpossible et nécessaire communauté. Quʼest-ce qui nous unit, malgré ou à travers nos différences ? Pour quelle raison lʼisolement ou la solitude sont-ils indispensables à la solidarité de lʼensemble ?
La réflexion ou la métaphore sur la relation sociale se nourrit constamment dʼune mise en jeu de lʼintime, dans une humeur où sont associés humour et étrangeté.